Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Pillars of the Earth» Forums » General

Subject: King's Court with metal too good? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chih-Hsien Wang
Taiwan
Taipei
Taiwan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi :

Just played with a friend, and he says King's court first player that gives a least 7 gold advantage (2 for tax exemption and 5 for metal ) is maybe too good, considering metal is a rare building material. I think maybe changing it to metal only (no tax exemption) as a variant rule is still a good choice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Roy
United Kingdom
Sutton
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Plummtw wrote:
Just played with a friend, and he says King's court first player that gives a least 7 gold advantage (2 for tax exemption and 5 for metal ) is maybe too good, considering metal is a rare building material. I think maybe changing it to metal only (no tax exemption) as a variant rule is still a good choice?


You should leave the rule as is and not try to change it for a few reasons:
1. The spaces are not supposed to be all as good as each other.
2. The key spaces are generally the ones for the craftsmen and not the metal space.
3. The first pawns out of the bag can pay as much (or almost as much) as the benefit you get from taking the metal and tax relief.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Humulus Lupulus
United States
Waltham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with the above comments. It is fine the way it is. If all the spaces were pretty much equal in value to all players all the time, then there would be little decision on whether or not to pay to place your worker as it is drawn from the bag.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Plummtw wrote:
Hi :

Just played with a friend, and he says King's court first player that gives a least 7 gold advantage (2 for tax exemption and 5 for metal ) is maybe too good, considering metal is a rare building material.


Uh, as Evil Roy said, the first player has to pay 7 gold to place his master builder on that spot, just to get that same 7 gold back. That's a net *zero*, or at best 1 or 2 dollars gained if the tax die rolls extremely high.

And you have to waste a *second* master builder in the market just to be able to sell it for the 5, thus pretty much dedicating your whole turn to essentially doing nothing.

You are paying to place your master builders, right?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.