Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Trek Deck Building Game: Human Q Promo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Meaning of the card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Borders
United States
San Francisco Bay Area
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First, my interpretation was that Q himself has stats of +1 speed, +1 attack, and +1 diplomacy, independent of the card effects. Right?

OK - now the card effect. "Increase all printed numbers in the effect of the next Character you play by 1"

Exactly how does this shake out? Let's say, as an example, I play this before Geordi?

Unfortunately, I don't have the card in front of me, but going from memory, Geordi's stats are:

speed +2, attack +1, no diplomacy, and shields +X.

The card effect is Geordi can repair up to 2 points of damage to your ship, and provides shields of +2.

So, I play Q first, then Geordi.

Does Q affect Geordi's stats? i.e. does Geordi now have a speed of +3, and an attack of +2? And still no diplomacy?

Can Geordi repair up to 2 points of damage, or 3?

Let's say, for sake of argument, there were only 2 points of damage, so Geordi repairs them. Does Geordi now provide +4 shields (2 repaired, plus 2), +5 shields (2 repaired, plus 3 for the card effect), +5 shields (2 repaired, plus 2 for the card effect, plus 1 to the 'shield' stat because of Q), or +6 shields (2 repaired, plus 3 for card effect, plus 1 for Q bonus)?

Here's a simpler example. Q, then a Commander.

Does Commander have +4 XP, +2 Speed, +2 Attack? Or something else?

It seems like everyone has a different interpretation here.

Alex (Borders)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wood
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Simply, you replace every single number (printed number) on the card by the number + 1.

Geordi, after Q, has a cost of 8.

Has +3 Speed, +3 Attack, no Diplomacy, +X Shield.

The text reads: "Remove up to 3 damage from your flagship. X = the amount of damage that was removed from your flagship this turn +3"

Note that X is not a printed number, so is not affected.

And yes, the Commander has +4XP, +2 Speed & Attack.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
You replace any printed number in the text of the cards effect box. Not stats or other numbers. ONLY EFFECT TEXT BOX.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wood
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ABykov wrote:
You replace any printed number in the text of the cards effect box. Not stats or other numbers. ONLY EFFECT TEXT BOX.


Ah, only the text box is considered the 'effect'? Ok then, another stab:


Geordi, after Q, has a cost of 7.

Has +2 Speed, +2 Attack, no Diplomacy, +X Shield.

The text reads: "Remove up to 3 damage from your flagship. X = the amount of damage that was removed from your flagship this turn +3"

Note that X is not a printed number, so is not affected in the text box.

The Commander has +4XP, +1 Speed & Attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
You are correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Borders
United States
San Francisco Bay Area
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, everyone. Glad to have it cleared up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dzuy vuong
United States
California
flag msg tools
This is just as fun as Night Medallion from L5R.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.