Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

London's Burning» Forums » Rules

Subject: Head-on attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Three questions. Firstly, if the gunner has been killed in a previous attack, can a bomber fire its front guns in response to a head-on attack? Or do they count it as if the Pilot fires the forward guns?

Secondly, after a head-on attack, assuming no damage to any involved fighters, does the round then proceed to the Luftwaffe Segment which gives the German fighter a chance at attacking the RAF fighter? Or does the return fire of the German fighter count as its try, and the mutual head-on attack takes up the whole first round of the combat round?

Finally, does a head-on attack take up a whole round of combat or does the Luftwaffe get a chance to fight back with any unengaged fighters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Schaller
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
Firstly, if the gunner has been killed in a previous attack, can a bomber fire its front guns in response to a head-on attack? Or do they count it as if the Pilot fires the forward guns?


It is the pilot who fired the forward guns. There is no return fire in a head-on attack if the target's pilot was hit on a previous attack or if the attack was made from out of the sun.

Quote:
after a head-on attack, assuming no damage to any involved fighters, does the round then proceed to the Luftwaffe Segment which gives the German fighter a chance at attacking the RAF fighter? Or does the return fire of the German fighter count as its try, and the mutual head-on attack takes up the whole first round of the combat round?


The former. By the way, keep in mind that the Luftwaffe segment may come before the RAF segment depending upon who intercepted whom.

Quote:
Finally, does a head-on attack take up a whole round of combat or does the Luftwaffe get a chance to fight back with any unengaged fighters?


Assume that the RAF are the interceptors and take their segment first:
Head on attacks by RAF fighters are conducted first. After they are resolved, any RAF aircraft which did not make a head on attack this segment may make a normal attack. This constitutes the RAF's combat segment.
It is now the Luftwaffe's combat segment. Any Luftwaffe fighters which do not have a pilot or engine hit and who have a valid target will attack, using head on or out of the sun attacks if possible (resolve first) or normal attacks if not possible (resolve second.) This constitutes the Luftwaffe segment and completes one round of combat.

By the way, remember that head on attacks may be made in the first round of combat only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Davis
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC:

1.) Yes, b/c the front guns are the pilot, not the gunner.

2.) The Luftwaffe gets its round, so no, the simultaneous attack is not the Luftwaffe attack.

3.) As per the above, after the RAF gets it's turn, the Luftwaffe gets to respond.

Hope this helps...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Gentlemen, thank you both so much. That is how I have been playing it, but I wanted to be sure.

I love this game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.