Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: Rebel vs Imperium» Forums » Rules

Subject: Total military strength calculation. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vlad Plushchevsky
Ukraine
flag msg tools
Hello, everybody.
My question is about total military strength calculation.
In case at the moment of takeover i have a temporary military strength card (development) in tableau, is it taken into account for general calculation or not? If yes, should it be discarded?
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you discard the card for its effect, it will be taken into account.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rain
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are calculating total military strength during a Settle phase (for conquering worlds, etc.), then yes you can include temporary military power if you pay for it (by discarding or whatever).

If you are calculating total military strength for other effects, such as the value of New Galactic Order, or having the most military 5-point goal, then no, temporary military power is never included.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Link
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Total Military for attack =
1. Permanent Military +
2. Temporary Military that the player chooses to invoke/pay for (this must be declared and paid for before the defender elects how to defend) +
3. Specialized Military (ie if target is brown, any brown-specific military) +
4. Specialized Attack (from Rebel Alliance or Rebel Sneak Attack)

Total Military for defense =
1. The intrinsic defense strength of the target world +
2. Permanent Military +
3. Specialized Military +
4. Temporary Military
5. Specialized Defense (Rebel Pact)

If attack >= defense, TO succeeds. Tie goes to the attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
theright555J wrote:
Total Military for attack =
1. Permanent Military +
2. Temporary Military that the player chooses to invoke/pay for (this must be declared and paid for before the defender elects how to defend) +
3. Specialized Military (ie if target is brown, any brown-specific military) +
4. Specialized Attack (from Rebel Alliance or Rebel Sneak Attack)

Total Military for defense =
1. The intrinsic defense strength of the target world +
2. Permanent Military +
3. Specialized Military +
4. Temporary Military
5. Specialized Defense (Rebel Pact)

If attack >= defense, TO succeeds. Tie goes to the attack.


For defense, you may want to put at #0, Pan-Galactic Security Council. Technically not military, but it'd be a good reminder on your checklist that it trumps everything else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vlad Plushchevsky
Ukraine
flag msg tools
Thank you guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alexander stark
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
theright555J wrote:
Total Military for attack =
1. Permanent Military +
2. Temporary Military that the player chooses to invoke/pay for (this must be declared and paid for before the defender elects how to defend) +
3. Specialized Military (ie if target is brown, any brown-specific military) +
4. Specialized Attack (from Rebel Alliance or Rebel Sneak Attack)

Total Military for defense =
1. The intrinsic defense strength of the target world +
2. Permanent Military +
3. Specialized Military +
4. Temporary Military
5. Specialized Defense (Rebel Pact)

If attack >= defense, TO succeeds. Tie goes to the attack.


One question. May the defender use the specialized military (for example +2 on Novelty worlds) when the target of the takeover is a Novelty world? Does this power use only when you settle a military world, or you can use it when you try to takeover or defense yourself?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
alexandermagno wrote:
May the defender use the specialized military (for example +2 on Novelty worlds) when the target of the takeover is a Novelty world?

Yes. See item 3 on both lists above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alexander stark
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
alexandermagno wrote:
May the defender use the specialized military (for example +2 on Novelty worlds) when the target of the takeover is a Novelty world?

Yes. See item 3 on both lists above.


Hi all, I still don't get if the defender may use specialized military (for example +2 Novely worlds) then the target of the takeover is not a Novelty world? Eg: do all the specialized military stack when you defend?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Soul_Guile wrote:
Hi all, I still don't get if the defender may use specialized military (for example +2 Novely worlds) then the target of the takeover is not a Novelty world? Eg: do all the specialized military stack when you defend?

No, specialized military must match the target. This is true for both attacking and defending.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you, very quick!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.