$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fresco: Expansion Modules 4, 5 and 6» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alchemy - Wishing Well Module rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We used the Wishing Well module for the first time today and we had some difficulty interpreting how to use the Alchemy card.

The text in the rulebook states:

"(2x) Alchemy - Workshop: The apprentice blends 1 extra paint. Exchange 3 basic colours (yellow, red, blue) in any combination against 1 orange, green or purple paint."

The interpretation that we used was that the player may discard any 3 basic colours to blend an orange, a green or a purple paint. This option could be performed twice.

The contending notion was that an apprentice can blend paint an additional time, ie. 3 times. While doing so, the apprentice can blend 3 basic colours into an orange, a green or a purple.

Does anyone have comments on how this card should be used?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kingjames01 wrote:
"(2x) Alchemy - Workshop: The apprentice blends 1 extra paint. Exchange 3 basic colours (yellow, red, blue) in any combination against 1 orange, green or purple paint."

The interpretation that we used was that the player may discard any 3 basic colours to blend an orange, a green or a purple paint. This option could be performed twice.

The contending notion was that an apprentice can blend paint an additional time, ie. 3 times. While doing so, the apprentice can blend 3 basic colours into an orange, a green or a purple.


Neither of your choices is correct.

The apprentice can blend twice as usual, following the enforced rules for exchanges, 1 blue + 1 yellow to get 1 green etc.

In addition to those two, he gets one special blend, where he hands in any three of the base colours in any combo, and gets 1 second level colour (orange,green, or purple)

The key word is "extra". He gets one extra exchange, for a total of three, and the extra rules about any 3 cubes only applies to that extra exchange.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
kingjames01 wrote:
"(2x) Alchemy - Workshop: The apprentice blends 1 extra paint. Exchange 3 basic colours (yellow, red, blue) in any combination against 1 orange, green or purple paint."

The interpretation that we used was that the player may discard any 3 basic colours to blend an orange, a green or a purple paint. This option could be performed twice.

The contending notion was that an apprentice can blend paint an additional time, ie. 3 times. While doing so, the apprentice can blend 3 basic colours into an orange, a green or a purple.


Neither of your choices is correct.

The apprentice can blend twice as usual, following the enforced rules for exchanges, 1 blue + 1 yellow to get 1 green etc.

In addition to those two, he gets one special blend, where he hands in any three of the base colours in any combo, and gets 1 second level colour (orange,green, or purple)

The key word is "extra". He gets one extra exchange, for a total of three, and the extra rules about any 3 cubes only applies to that extra exchange.


Thank you so much! That clears it up very nicely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Butt
United Kingdom
Warrington
Cheshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
So no variant rules for pink and brown?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.