$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Medina» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leaving a gate open & Connecting to a wall rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Herman Roozen
Netherlands
Assen
Drenthe
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We have played Medina several times these years and only now ran into these two questions:
1) It says that you must leave room between two wall pieces between different towers. A gate, so to speak. Does that mean that the space next to this gate can also not be blocked by a palace or stable? (We played it that you can 'block' the gate with a palace or stable piece. The stables and palace pieces do have little doors in them...)
2) It says that the first palace that is connected to a tower gets the tower bonus. Whether it is first claimed and later connected, or first connected and later claimed. The next palace that is connected by palace pieces to the tower AND is claimed AFTER it is connected then gets the bonus. OR you can connect an already claimed palace with a stable to the wall to get the bonus. (We played it that the last palace that is connected to the wall gets the bonus, whether it was first claimed and then connected or the other way around. This seems to be wrong.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
hermanroozen wrote:
We have played Medina several times these years and only now ran into these two questions:
1) It says that you must leave room between two wall pieces between different towers. A gate, so to speak. Does that mean that the space next to this gate can also not be blocked by a palace or stable? (We played it that you can 'block' the gate with a palace or stable piece. The stables and palace pieces do have little doors in them...)

Just the walls. The "gate" is there just to keep the walls separate and clear which is connected to which tower. The buildings don't care about the gate and so can block it.

Quote:
2) It says that the first palace that is connected to a tower gets the tower bonus. Whether it is first claimed and later connected, or first connected and later claimed. The next palace that is connected by palace pieces to the tower AND is claimed AFTER it is connected then gets the bonus. OR you can connect an already claimed palace with a stable to the wall to get the bonus. (We played it that the last palace that is connected to the wall gets the bonus, whether it was first claimed and then connected or the other way around. This seems to be wrong.)

I don't think it matters. It is the first to have a claimed building connected to that tower via a wall.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian
Germany
Hürth
NRW
flag msg tools
Thank you for stopping at this OverText. Your cursor is now being scanned for the purpose of security. Please don't move for 3 seconds . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Thank you for your cooperation. You may proceed.
mbmbmbmbmb
"Gates" in the wall do not influcence the city squares in any way (other than victory points of course).

The tower bonus will belong to the player who last did "something" at the wall belonging to the tower:
- Occupy a palace already connected to the wall
- Extend the wall to an already occupied palace
- Build a stable to connect an already occupied palace to the wall.

Hope that helps
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.