$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Rise of Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Empire tiles - again. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon Watson
United Kingdom
Banstead
Surrey - United Kingdom
flag msg tools
ASL - other tactical wargames call it Sir.
badge
Beneath this mask there is an idea.....and ideas are bulletproof.
mbmbmbmbmb
Apologies if this has been subsequently cleared up - but the FAQ discussion around Empire tiles was a bit of a dogs dinner. The FAQ resolved most ambiguities from the original rules but a couple of 'edge cases' remain.

- Most likely to occur in Era-II(A) or Era-II(A) and a player has no remaining presence on the board due to removal of cubes at the end of the previous era and players going ahead of them removing any remaining cubes in battle. Is their next play of an Empire tile functionally the same as play of a 'First Empire Tile' under the rules and FAQ - if so they can place to any region allowed by the current era, and then any region(s) adjacent to that region subject to the Empire card value. This would potentially allow a player (in Era 3) to place cubes in China and then in India (as it is adjacent). Also this could be done with or without a 'water' empire tile. Is this correct?

- Again, if you have no remaining presence in Europe, but still have cubes in either of the other Areas (New World or Asia), how do you re-establish a presence in the Old World? Do you need a water based Empire Tile to place in the Med - if so can you expand from that using the same Empire tile. Or, can you always place cubes in the Old World, even with just a land Empire tile based on 'First Empire Tiles' basis above?

Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Humpert
United States
Dillsburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
domus_ludorum wrote:
Most likely to occur in Era-II(A) or Era-II(A) and a player has no remaining presence on the board due to removal of cubes at the end of the previous era and players going ahead of them removing any remaining cubes in battle. Is their next play of an Empire tile functionally the same as play of a 'First Empire Tile' under the rules and FAQ - if so they can place to any region allowed by the current era, and then any region(s) adjacent to that region subject to the Empire card value. This would potentially allow a player (in Era 3) to place cubes in China and then in India (as it is adjacent). Also this could be done with or without a 'water' empire tile. Is this correct?

Yes, that is correct. In Era III, you may start in China regardless of the Empire tile chosen, and may expand into India, even if the tile does not depict water. If it does depict water, then you may also expand into either:
(a) one additional region in the Old World, or
(b) one or both regions of the New World (North and/or South America).

domus_ludorum wrote:
Again, if you have no remaining presence in Europe, but still have cubes in either of the other Areas (New World or Asia), how do you re-establish a presence in the Old World?

An Empire tile with water would allow you to place cubes into any one region in the Old World. That region could be the Mediterranean. Note that you always have the option to remove all your cubes from the board and bring them back into your personal supply before choosing an Empire tile. Doing so would allow you to place in multiple regions in the Old World, as you are then back in the position of having no cubes on the board.

domus_ludorum wrote:
Do you need a water based Empire Tile to place in the Med

Yes.

domus_ludorum wrote:
if so can you expand from that using the same Empire tile.

No, not in the situation where you are returning to the Old World from the New World or the Far East. As stated above, you may place cubes in one Old World region only.

If, however, you've decided to remove all your cubes from the board, an Empire tile with water would allow you to place first in the Mediterranean, then expand into adjacent land regions.

domus_ludorum wrote:
Or, can you always place cubes in the Old World, even with just a land Empire tile based on 'First Empire Tiles' basis above?

No, if you have cubes on the board, a land-only Empire tile only allows you to place cubes in regions where you currently have cubes and regions adjacent to those regions. So if you have no cubes in the Old World, but cubes in, say, North America only, a land-only tile would allow you to place cubes only in North America. Again, as mentioned above, you could always vacate North America and start anew.

Hope this clears things up.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Watson
United Kingdom
Banstead
Surrey - United Kingdom
flag msg tools
ASL - other tactical wargames call it Sir.
badge
Beneath this mask there is an idea.....and ideas are bulletproof.
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Scott - the above seems logical and consistent, with one slight quibble, although I'm not saying your wrong.

- So when expanding to the New World you can place to both regions (NA and SA) yet when expanding back to the Old World you can only place to one region.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Humpert
United States
Dillsburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
domus_ludorum wrote:
So when expanding to the New World you can place to both regions (NA and SA) yet when expanding back to the Old World you can only place to one region.

Yes, the rulebook specifically addresses the return to the Old World scenario (section 6.4.4). The expansion into the New World (allowing you to expand into both territories using one water Empire tile) was addressed in the FAQ here: Publisher's FAQ (under section 6.4 Empire Tiles - Water Tiles).

You could probably play the expansion into the New World as only allowing you to expand into one of the two regions, so long as all players understand that at the start. I've played several games of this, and each time we seem to agree upon different rules for the Empire tiles. A fun time was had every time regardless.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Rizzo
Italy
Taranto
flag msg tools
themightyhump wrote:

Yes, that is correct. In Era III, you may start in China regardless of the Empire tile chosen,...


I don't agree with you.
Rules state that :

6.4: ...If you do not have any cubes on the world map,
you may place cubes in any region allowed by the era
(see 6.4.1 and 6.4.4).


and

6.4.4 : In Era-II and Era-III, empire tiles depicting light blue
“water” also allow you to place cubes in the New
World or the Far East parts of the world map



If you start in FE or NW you must first select a water empire tile.

Otherwise why 6.4.4 is indicated?
If only color for Era is important then I would write "(see 6.4.1)"

and see here


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.