Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Staines
United Kingdom
Grimsby
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was talking to another ex teacher about this and I mentioned that I had collected a number of games which were very suitable for helping teach a variety of subjects. Problem is I was a secondary school teacher and I felt really out of my depth with her return question...

can anyone recommend games on Literacy and/or Social Development games for a 6 year old

I kinda believe myself that social development can be taught by ALL games, purely by the nature that games involve interaction with the other people you are playing against. As opposed to computer games

I would suggest just silly games of for instance 'who can come up with the most words that rhyme with ________', this ones neat and could be done as a family boys vs girls

I would have thought a 6 year old would be too young for taboo or balderdash unless you limit the vocabulary you use within it. Mind you same goes for the game above

The 2 word game is always fun; everyone just adds 2 words to a story and you have to see where the story goes.

Or another which I used to play with my mum and brother involves 2 players and a referee; the two players both have a story ending which must be reached and they must continue the story from the other person... every minute the story teller changes over. This is seriously good fun!

Anyone have any other suggestions?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vaucharwen 30
Australia
St Ives
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not a teacher but have a grandson that age. A few thoughts that hopefully might help, depending upon the base level of literacy for the 6-year-old/s.

Boggle Jr. - letter recognition, word recognition. However some 6 year olds would find the game itself too boring. We ended up playing it as a racing game - the first to grab all the letters for his/her words.