$10.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Battles of Westeros: Brotherhood Without Banners» Forums » Rules

Subject: Beric's Fire ability - clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christoph Breitkopf
Germany
Hannover
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We just played Brotherhood without Banners for the first time, scenario 23, and a question came up: How is Beric's unit ability to place a fire token handled? I asked Rob; his answers are in bold.

"When at least one Valor result is rolled during an attack made by Beric, enemies that take damage from that attack have a level one fire token placed in their hex."

First, if he eliminates the enemy unit with his attack, does he still have to place a fire token into the hex they occupied? Doing so would prevent him from using Pursue, as he cannot step onto the hex with the fire token.

1) You do not place the fire token if the unit is dead already.

Second, if he both damages the enemy unit and forces a retreat, where is the fire token placed? Placing it into the original hex would prevent Pursue. Placing it into the hex where the enemy is after retreating would allow him to pursue, but prevent Run Down.

2) The fire token is placed after damage is dealt, on a surviving unit, BEFORE retreats are resolved. Of course, with the fire on top of them, they can't retreat so hits are taken. If the unit is destroyed in this way, the fire remains in the empty hex. (Thus, he would not be ablue to use Pursue in this case).

3) Although not worded as such, Beric's ability was meant to be able to be declined. So, the FAQ when the time comes will say that if you don't want to use the ability, you can declare you are not using it before rolling the dice. (Important when using his commit ability - otherwise 2) might break the chain of "infinite" pursuit).
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.