Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

San Juan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building Quarry and Carpenter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Gabelman
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My fiance' did the following:

1) Built Quarry and argued it's only a cost of 3 since it's a violet building (normally it's a cost of 4).

2) Built a carpenter and argued she should get an extra card since the power is "take an extra card when you build a violet building", and Carpenter is violet.

I called her a big fat cheater liar face.

Is she right, or am I right?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
♪ Isaäc Bickërstaff ♫
United States
Greer
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Entropy Seminar:
badge
The results of a five yeer studee ntu the sekund lw uf thurmodynamiks aand itz inevibl fxt hon shewb rt nslpn raq liot.
mb
I'm not going to say you're right, but I'm pretty sure that the rules won't support her claims (that is, you don't get the benefit of a building until you build it first).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The general rule is that a building's power does not operate during the building phase in which that building is built.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Z
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wouldn't it have been more diplomatic to check the rules? From page 3 under Notes: 'the special functions of several buildings may allow a player to alter these building rules if he has the building in his play area when he builds.'

So, yes, you were right.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Woodward
United States
Bowling Green
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree that you were correct, but I hope you were joking about calling her that, or you made it clear to her that you were joking. If not, it sounds like a good way to put "ex" next to the word fiancee. I've been there, trust me, you don't want to join that club.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S P
United States
Zionsville
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You are correct.

From the rules (posted on RGG website):

"the player may first use the special function of a building
after the builder phase when he built it (owns it/has it in
his play area), even in a later phase of the same round" (pg 7)



Here is a specific blurb (pg 9) about the carpenter:

"Note: a player does not draw a card immediately after building the
carpenter, but when he builds his next violet building"

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.