$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pocket Battles: Elves vs. Orcs» Forums » Rules

Subject: Special traits Excite and Galvanize rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Nitram
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

Maybe this was clarified earlier on the Forum, but I have scanned Rules threads and could not find anything on the subject....

I have doubts in fitting these two special traits in game order. The general rule (page 8) says: "(In his battle turn) Active player must spend one or more Order Tokens to perform ONE Action with ONE of his Units" . One of those available actions is to activate Special Traits (by using order/s). Fine.

Excite Trait says: "When issuing an order of Charge, Carry on engagement or Shoot to one of Your units, also issue an order to this unit to get 1 further die in engagement or shooting". First question - when these Charge etc. action should be performed? In the same turn when Excite was activated, or in the next turn of the same player? Second - shoud I use 1 or 2 order tokens for a charge (one token for a charge and another one to get further die?

Maybe I set it a bit unclear, see the example. Assume that no orders were issued so far by Player B


Turn 2(not first, we want to use special traits).

Active Player B uses his first order on Shaman to activate Excite. Is he allowed to issue Charge order NOW, in turn 2 on other unit? Or maybe only in Turn 4 can Player B issue a Charge order on Unit and use Excite?
Either on turn 2 or 4, how many orders will be required to use Excite? One or one (for charge) plus one (to get 1 further die)?

Case with Galvanize is similar - pay order and use special trait AND at the same turn issue Charge order to the other unit (next order token) plus next order token to get Overwhelming?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: "rund" corrected for "turn"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Brother
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
korek wrote:
First question - when these Charge etc. action should be performed?

You have gotten it the wrong way round. You order your Charge action as normal and at that point Excite allows you to place an additional order to get a boosted effect (an extra die in shooting/engagement).

korek wrote:
Second - shoud I use 1 or 2 order tokens for a charge (one token for a charge and another one to get further die?

You will use at least two order tokens: One on the charging unit and one on the unit with Excite.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Nitram
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Evil Brother wrote:

You have gotten it the wrong way round. You order your Charge action as normal and at that point Excite allows you to place an additional order to get a boosted effect (an extra die in shooting/engagement).

You will use at least two order tokens: One on the charging unit and one on the unit with Excite.


Thanks, it makes sense now.

I am however still confused if all this takes place in one turn? I mean placing the order(s) on charging/shooting unit AND on unit (actually - Shaman) with Excite Trait?


So, basing on the above, Galvanize should look like: Place the order token(s) to Charge on some Unit and at the same time place the order token(s) on Shaman to activate Special Trait - Galvanize?


I am confused due to the wording (page 9 in English ruleset): "A Unit can use Order Tokens to perform one of the following actions: 1. 2. Charge 3. 4. 5. 6. Use a Special Trait
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Brother
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
korek wrote:
I am however still confused if all this takes place in one turn?

This all takes place in a single turn.

korek wrote:
So, basing on the above, Galvanize should look like: Place the order token(s) to Charge on some Unit and at the same time place the order token(s) on Shaman to activate Special Trait - Galvanize?

That is correct.

There are three types of special traits:
1. The ones that simply work (like Fast or Skirmish).
2. The ones that need to be activated in combination with another action (like Excite or Galvanize).
3. The ones that need to be activated stand alone (like Control or Heal).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Nitram
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks man.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Husted
United States
East Hartford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for this thread. It really helped clear up how to play these units and their abilities.

The English rules specify only one order...which is incorrect. You can place more than one order on more than one troop/unit. You can place an order on a unit so that it can do its action and one or more on other unit/troops that have special abilities that can modify what happens with the first unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.