Dear all, I have just received BFH218. Been going through some posts. Chad Ellis mentions a mulligan rule which I can't find in the 2nd printing rule book. Is it still part of the rule set? Thanking you in advance. PLB.
That's my nickname for the fact that you begin the game by drawing five cards and putting two on the bottom of the deck. For most of the game's history you just drew three cards, but that sometimes meant that you (particularly if you were going first) had an awkward draw. We experimented with drawing additional cards and putting some on the bottom to manage your start hand. It's not a "true" mulligan but has much the same effect.
Chad, Thanks for your prompt reply. I was indeed using the term Mulligan in it's generally accepted sense, that the whole hand of three (or 5) cards are discarded as a one off at the beginning of the hand if it contains rubbish. Thank you for the clarification. Also, while I have the chance, I'd like to thank you for "My Kind of Town". Another great game to the YMG stable!
...the 2nd printing rule book. Is it still part of the rule set?
I just thought I'd mention that there is no difference in the rules between the first and second printing. (Nor do I anticipate any changes in the third printing, which is going to happen fairly soon.)