$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fortress and Surrounding Area Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Harding
United Kingdom
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
1a) No, only one Axis unit may remain in Tobruk. Once combat is over neither side is attacking.

1b) Correct, the British do not have to initiate combat. If they do, the Axis get the +2 hit bonuses. The British could ship a second unit and a GSU in for this combat if they wished (though doing so would be expensive as they would be overstacked afterwards).

2) Correct, with both spaces contested it's impossible for either side to move between them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarek Westermark
msg tools
Actually, regarding 1b) rule 6.85 states that a fort can't be entered untill the surrounding area has been cleared of enemies. So although the Fortress itself acts as a port even if contested (unlike the surrounding area), the brits can't just op move renforcements for an attack.

Unless of course the surrounding area is already theirs, in which case the attack isn't expensive, as overstacked units would simply be moved there after combat.

Hope I got this right :] best of luck to ya.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Harding
United Kingdom
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
Interesting point - read strictly you're correct but I've never played that way and vaguely remember Rick posting permitting the rotation of British blocks through Gibraltar. Rick?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You can move a unit into Gibraltar, and then the original unit out. That kind of rotation can be done. But you cannot move a unit into Gibraltar by sea and then move that same unit into the surrounding contested area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.