Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Small World Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about rivers and Sea-faring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Cook
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
May have missed it in the rules, but if a Sea-faring race is moving across a river, I've assuming it's 1 token just to move across, but 2 to conquer it, just as they'd normally need to for conquest. But then they leave a unit behind claiming the river. Does that cut off the river to all other travel? Particularly since this is a power that sticks around when a race goes in decline, it seems extremely powerful that they could not only claim those spaces but keep anyone else from moving in and therefore across the river. We ended up just house-ruling that the river could be conquered as any other space once they were in decline, just couldn't actually leave any tokens there afterwards (so 3 instead of 1 token for river transport the first time, basically).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bwcook123 wrote:
May have missed it in the rules, but if a Sea-faring race is moving across a river, I've assuming it's 1 token just to move across, but 2 to conquer it, just as they'd normally need to for conquest. But then they leave a unit behind claiming the river. Does that cut off the river to all other travel? Particularly since this is a power that sticks around when a race goes in decline, it seems extremely powerful that they could not only claim those spaces but keep anyone else from moving in and therefore across the river. We ended up just house-ruling that the river could be conquered as any other space once they were in decline, just couldn't actually leave any tokens there afterwards (so 3 instead of 1 token for river transport the first time, basically).
A River region cost only 1 token to conquer, and it can be conqured by ANY race. However, only Seafaring races will actually stay in the region after the Redeployment phase
Do notice that there is no such rules as "to cross". You must conquer each and every Region you want to enter. The fact that you have to empty the Region again in the same turn, does not change the normal rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Parmer
United States
Friendswood
TX
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I take it that rivers are -1 to attack, so conquering a river with 1 seafaring unit in it would be 2 units. This kind of nerfs seafaring. Interesting...your view that no one can use that region while held by seafaring.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They can use the region just the same whether or not Seafaring races are occupying the region or not.
Normal region: 2 tokens for empty region +1 token per token in region
River region: 1 token for empty region + 1 token per token in region.
Must abandon region at the end of turn (unless Seafaring)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Mack
United States
Santa Fe Springs
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / OCBG Member
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
mbmbmbmbmb
The River rules have already been discussed in this very rules forum too--guess you missed that.

A more comprehensive discussion also took place, previously, on the rules forums for Small World Underground, which is where the River Regions originated.

I recommend you look around the forums (or you can use the search feature). You'll find pretty much all of the questions have already been answered. If you don't find it here on the Realms forums, it's likely something A&A on the forums for either of the base games--Realms didn't really introduce many different elements to the game. (I'm not saying it's not great.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.