Popular Tags: [View All]
Yuliyan Kalaydzhiev
Germany
München
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Boardgamegeeks!

I am not entirely sure that this is the right place to post a question about painting miniatures but I really did try to find a more suitable sub-forum..!

I am new to miniature painting, and by that I mean I have yet to paint my first miniature I have decided to start with my War of the Ring miniatures, giving them a dry brush paint job with only a couple of details in different colours.

Although I have read a dozen of courses and paint job "reports" there are still some questions bugging me. Maybe some of you could help?

1. Acryl paints or enamel? A friend told me you need "enamel" ("Lack" in German) and not paint/tin to color plastic such as polyethylene.

2. What kind of paint can I actually use? I have some normal acryl paints for drawing. Would that suffice? Are their special properties (like stickiness, less volume etc.) that make miniature acryl paints the only suitable type? I live in Germany, Munich and here they mostly sell Revell and Tamiya acryls (enamel, if I am not wrong?). Would they do for the small details or do I need something even more special (e.g. Games Workshop)?

Thanks in advance for your replies and happy gaming!!!
Yulian
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick R
United Kingdom
Havant
Hampshire
flag msg tools
So long and thanks for all the fish
badge
42 - Life the Universe and Everything
mbmbmbmbmb
I am an acrylic man myself, I find enamels far too trouble some and mix and to get the depth of contrast I want.

Tamiya do a nice range of acrylics which do for me, I generally find GW acrylics more expensive and more tailored to their games (Warhammer, Lord of the Rings etc.) with respect to the colour range.

Regards

Gnome
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Susanne Hirche
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb