Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Expeditions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Challanges (and otherwise) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Puig
Spain
Tarragona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

What does otherwise mean when you´re trying to overcome a challange?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
An example (or two) would be very helpful in trying to answer that question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Puig
Spain
Tarragona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Captain´s log political challange 1 says you need (20 + otherwise) to pass the challange.

I cannot understand what does otherwise mean here...

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
mapiu2001 wrote:
What does otherwise mean when you´re trying to overcome a challange?

I think there are three cases of this.

Presidential Palace (Pol 1)
Motorcade Ambush (Reb 1)
Rebel Hideout (Reb 2B).

Presidential Palace (Pol 1)
(20+ with two Klingon Evidence) ...
(20+ otherwise) ...

This means that if you have 20 or more on the challenge and you have two Klingon Evidence then you take the POLITICS 2A path and score +3 Politics.

Otherwise if you have 20 or more on the challenge but only one or no Klingon Evidence then you take the POLITICS 2B path and score +1 Politics.

If you didn't score 20 on the challenge then you haven't completed POLITICS 1 yet.

Motorcade Ambush (Reb 1)
(21+ on or before day 7)
(21+ otherwise)

This means that if you have 21 or more on or before day 7 then you take the REBEL 2A path and score +3 Rebel.

Otherwise if you have 21 or more but it is after day 7 then you take the REBEL 2B path and score +1 Rebel.

If you didn't score 21 on the challenge then you haven't completed REBEL 1 yet.

Rebel Hideout (Reb 2B)
(22+ with Klingon Decoder)
(22+ otherwise)

This means that if you have 22 or more and a Klingon Decoder then you take the REBEL 3C path and score +3 Rebel.

Otherwise if you have 22 or more but don't have a Klingon Decoder then you take the REBEL 3D path and score +1 Rebel.

If you didn't score 22 on the challenge then you haven't completed REBEL 2B yet.

Hope that helps.
5 
 Thumb up
0.52
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Puig
Spain
Tarragona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Of course, it helps.

Thanks again Chris: You´re always very helpfull.


I had some problem with this word because there is a picture in the rules where, together with otherwise ,appear a couple of envelopes...


Now it is completelly clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.