Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

War of the Ring: Battles of the Third Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Guards of the citadel card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philip Jepsen Preusse
Denmark
Copenhagen S
Denmark
flag msg tools
Question:
Can Guards of the citadel be played by the FP player if Minas Tirith is occupied by Shadow units under siege?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn von Knorring
Sweden
Uppsala
flag msg tools
The picture is a swedish cartoon-figure Herman Hedning. English info here: http://www.hermanhedning.com/eng/
mbmbmbmbmb
PJPreusse wrote:
Question:
Can Guards of the citadel be played by the FP player if Minas Tirith is occupied by Shadow units under siege?


Yes. You can always muster with event cards even when under siege but you cannot muster with action dices when under siege.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree - stated another way, because the Stronghold has been conquered by the enemy, the only way for either side to recruit is with an Event card, and Guards of the Citadel suits that purpose for a Free army besieging Shadow forces in Minas Tirith.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
When an Event card instructs you to recruit into a certain region (Minas Tirith in this case), you may do so only if the region is free for you. Since a Stronghold region is considered free for you if you are besieging the Stronghold, you may play a recruitment card for that region under those circumstances.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jepsen Preusse
Denmark
Copenhagen S
Denmark
flag msg tools
Thank you very much for your answers. Yesterday we decided that the card could not be played because the citadel was in enemy hands. But your advice makes sense from an academic perspective.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.