$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Treasure Chest» Forums » Rules

Subject: [San Juan] Event Cards during Councillor Phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Saldana
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you have to play an event card if it's one of the two (or five) cards from which you select a different card during the Councillor phase? If so, do you then draw another card (or cards) before selecting which card you want to bring into your hand?

The rules are a bit ambiguous here, because technically you could pass over an event card, and thus would never have an event card in your hand, by choosing to discard the event card rather than taking it. On the other hand, this event card is "seen."

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As soon as an event card is drawn, for any reason, it is put into play and you draw a replacement card.

thus, with the Councillor, you should always be drawing 2/5/8 cards (as appropriate) to choose from. In other words, drawing an event card will not penalize you a card from your selection.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, as Tibs said, as soon as anyone draws an event card, they must immediately put it into play, and draw another card to replace it.

It is an honesty system, the person who draws it is not allowed to discard it without showing, that would be (possible but) cheating.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Saldana
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, y'all. We played it that you had a choice to draw (and then draw another card) during Councillor phase, but this makes more sense!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There's not much incentive to cheat on this.

Putting the event card on the table doesn't mean it's ever going to be chosen by someone. And even if you thought the event you picked up would hurt you the most if someone did activate it later, conditions in the game could change and you might be the person wanting to activate it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.