$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arena: Roma II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bribery and placing new cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Bosca
United States
Royal Oak
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a quick question,

When playing a card to the bribery slot (placing, not activating), must you pay for the pips on the dice used to play a new card?

The most literal interpretation of the English rules has me believing you only pay when activating a card in the bribery column, not when playing one down from your hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Thibodeau
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You pay its cost, as for any other card you place on your tableau. It has nothing to do with your dice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Houghton
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The English translation talks about "additionally" in the cost to place a card in the bribery slot, which seems to imply there is an extra cost over and above the normal card cost.

If Ken is right, then how do you activate a bribery card and is there a cost? Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Thibodeau
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chou4555 wrote:
The English translation talks about "additionally" in the cost to place a card in the bribery slot, which seems to imply there is an extra cost over and above the normal card cost.

If Ken is right, then how do you activate a bribery card and is there a cost? Thanks


The "additionally" you're talking about refers to the dice you have to assign to the bribery slot to activate the card, not to place it on your tableau. In other words, activating a card in thr bribery slot works like this:

1- One action to place a card in the bribery slot by paying its cost
2- One action to place a dice on the bribery icon
3- Additionally, pay the cost (value of the dice you used) in the bribery slot
4- Perform the effect of the card in the bribery slot

Hope it makes it clearer now.

EDIT: reworded to make it even clearer
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harun Musho'd
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Hi


I was Colin's opponent, when we got confused. I still don't get it. The relevant rules says:

"Activate a card

You place one of your action dice on the die icon
of the icon bar showing the same number as the
action die or on the “bribery” icon.

The card next to this icon is now activated, which
means that the effect as described on the card
takes place immediately.

In order to activate the card next to the “bribery”
icon the player must additionally pay as many
Sestertii into the general supply as shown by the
action die
used for activating this card. (my italics)"

Surely that means that you have to pay an amount equal to the action die you used to activate the card next to the bribery icon. The question is, in addition to what?
- The cost on the card itself? or
- the action of placing the die on the bribery icon?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Thibodeau
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It really is not complicated....

You put a card in the slot under the bribery icon by paying its cost in sestertii, just like any other card under any other die icon in your tableau. This can be done in a previous turn.

Whenever you want to activate this card (use its power), you assign any unused die to the bribery slot (so the value will range from 1 to 6, depending on the die). Then, additionally to assigning a die, you pay the cost in sestertii that corresponds to the value of the die you just put on the bribery icon.

So, for example, if you have the Triremis card under the bribery slot from a previous turn and you want to activate it now. You rolled 1,2,5. You could put the die showing a 1 on the bribery icon and then pay 1 sestertii to activate it. Alternatively (but unwisely) you could use your die showing a 5 in the bribery slot and pay 5 sestertii to activate Triremis.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the rule sounds complicated, the example of play in the rules should clear it up. Ken's explanation/example should clear it up. But the rules also contain examples next to the rules. People often skip the included examples when reading the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.