$25.00
$18.00
$32.00
$22.00
$24.00
Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Snow Tails» Forums » Rules

Subject: Counting movement during a corner rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Bentley
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Could someone please describe how to count correctly during a corner? Please clarify the use of the little "bubble" symbols on some of the rectangles as well. In addition, please clarify when rectangles are considered at a diagonal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kenerinn wrote:
Could someone please describe how to count correctly during a corner?

The number in the circle is the total number of spaces you are going this turn at the time you cross over the speed limit line. So if it says 4, if you go 5 spaces, you have gone over the speed limit and must take the penalty. It doesn't matter if you start 1 space in front of the line or 4 spaces, if you cross it while moving that many spaces, it is a penalty.

Quote:
Please clarify the use of the little "bubble" symbols on some of the rectangles as well. In addition, please clarify when rectangles are considered at a diagonal.

these both go hand in hand.

The best thing to do is not to look at the spaces as what you are moving to. Instead, look at the front edge of that space. This tells you the relative position of each space. If one space is on a diagonal and the space next to it is also on the diagonal but it is farther ahead, that second space is ahead of the first one (even if their back edges are the same).

What the bubbles are doing is letting you know which of the front edges are in the same plane. when one or more lanes exist between them.

Once this clicks, it becomes very obvious what they were trying to do and how simple it really is.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Bentley
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
What about a "space" in a corner that has only one straight top edge and the bottom edge is a curved edge of the inside corner. Does this count as a space that can be occupied by a sled? Or in other words, if the sled fits in the space, can it occupy it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Go the Mighty Chiefs!
mbmbmbmbmb
kenerinn wrote:
Could someone please describe how to count correctly during a corner? Please clarify the use of the little "bubble" symbols on some of the rectangles as well. In addition, please clarify when rectangles are considered at a diagonal.


The little black and white bubble symbols are for use in determining who is in the lead, for the purpose of determining turn order. Matching symbols are "neck and neck".

Yes the rectangles which are not quite rectangular (have a curved edge on the inside of the corner) can be used as spaces too.

You can drift sideways into a space provided the front edge of the space is IN FRONT OF the front edge of the space you are currently in.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Smeltzer
United Kingdom
Leeds
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kenerinn wrote:
What about a "space" in a corner that has only one straight top edge and the bottom edge is a curved edge of the inside corner. Does this count as a space that can be occupied by a sled? Or in other words, if the sled fits in the space, can it occupy it?


Like where the blue sled is? That's a space. Why wouldn't it be?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a visual example. The blue sled has a movement of 5 total, with 3 drift to the left needed (say cards of 5-2 with a 2 brake). Red moves are drift moves, black moves are normal.



See how the first drift move moves you forward a lot, the space in the next lane is completely forward of your current space. But for the second drift, the space is just a tiny bit forward.

edit: Note how this isn't the most efficient move in this case. Drift-drift-drift-move-move would have ended one space further forward of the indicated end square.
18 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Sachs
United States
Williamstown
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Despite your hope, there is not even any inherent symbolism; gravity is simply a coincidence.
mbmbmbmbmb
Apologies for the thread necromancy. Steve, your picture has exactly the situation I'm wondering about. That last red arrow you classified as "drift" but I don't see any forward movement ... unless (light bulb?) "forward movement" means "ends up in a square whose line is in front of the square you moved from" ... ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jaysachs wrote:
Apologies for the thread necromancy. Steve, your picture has exactly the situation I'm wondering about. That last red arrow you classified as "drift" but I don't see any forward movement ... unless (light bulb?) "forward movement" means "ends up in a square whose line is in front of the square you moved from" ... ?


You may not get a lot of "forward" movement when changing lanes on a corner, and it can be a bit confusing to figure out if you've moved correctly. Our approach when drifting is to always leave your current square directly through the (right or left) upper corner. On a straightaway this will bring you directly through the back corner of the next square, but on a curve this will often bring you though the side. In any event, it should move you correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niclas Lam
msg tools
jaysachs wrote:
That last red arrow you classified as "drift" but I don't see any forward movement ... unless (light bulb?) "forward movement" means "ends up in a square whose line is in front of the square you moved from" ... ?


That is exactly how I remember to drifting correctly. When drifting you have to change lane but you also have to end up in a space that is further ahead than the one you drifted from, even if only a few millimeters. And of course the space you are moving from has to touch the space you are drifting to. In the curves there are alot of times where when you drift it does not seem to move you a lot, but it's usually better than to race off the tracks and take those dent cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.