Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions - deck running out and Wildlife Preserve rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

After 4 plays I have 2 questions (I'm frankly impressed with the rulebook, it is so much better than my previous experience of AEG's games rules.) that answers all but two of my questions that have arisen during play.

1) When your deck runs out do you reshuffle (I can not find this anywhere in the rules)

2) Wildlife Preserve

If I played this card on a base where there are already actions that affects say one of my minions, is that action then discarded into it's owners pile?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
peltazoid wrote:
1) When your deck runs out do you reshuffle (I can not find this anywhere in the rules)


Rules page 4 wrote:
If you need to draw or reveal a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile. Put it on the table face down - that's your new deck. Start drawing from there.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
downeymb wrote:
peltazoid wrote:
1) When your deck runs out do you reshuffle (I can not find this anywhere in the rules)


Rules page 4 wrote:
If you need to draw or reveal a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile. Put it on the table face down - that's your new deck. Start drawing from there.



So does blushblush

3 or 4 checks of the rules and I missed it each time (as did my friends) whistle

Thanks, that just leaves the 2nd question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Dallas
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
2) The action is not discarded, it just no longer affects your minions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Darksbane wrote:
2) The action is not discarded, it just no longer affects your minions.


So if a minion of mine had Poison on it which has

Quote:
Ongoing: This minion has -4 power (Minions have a minimum power of 0)


and I play Wildlife Preserve

Quote:
Play on a base. Ongoing: Your Minions here are not affected by other player's actions.


Does this negate the Poison? or is it only new Actions played afterwards that do not affect my minion? Also if it is the former I take it that the Poison card stays on the minion and is not discarded then.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also I take it that the use of the term actions (as in wildlife preserve) only means Action cards and not minion abilities?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Action is a card type.

Ability is text on a card.

Jeff and I chose terms very carefully, and tried to apply them as evenly and clearly as we could.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Dallas
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All actions would not affect your minion, that doesn't mean they would be discarded though.

Yes only Action cards would be affected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys

My mind is now at rest, we did both of those in the way they have been clarified.

As I mentioned in my OP the rules and cards are very consistent and clear.





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.