We had this come up at our last race. It was raining and someone landed in a corner, then slid one space (rain tires) ending behind another car. Could that car then slipstream if all exceptions were met? We decided that the hydroplaning would only happen at the end of the movement, after slipstreaming. Is this correct?
No, the car is still considered to be in the corner and therefor slipstreaming is nt allowed.
Sorry, but this is wrong. Slipstreaming is allowed in corners, as long as you follow the arrows. In a corner, a slipstreaming car must follow normal driving code (e.g. following the arrows). (page 7, Formula D Complete Rules)
Section 18-5 of the master rules gives examples of sliding first and then using the slipstream. We rationalized that the car would slipstream first and then the sliding would take be at the very end of the movement.