Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew L.
United States
Lawrence
Kansas
flag msg tools
There is no try
badge
There is no emotion, there is peace. There is no ignorance, there is knowledge. There is no passion, there is serenity. There is no death, there is the Force.
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone please, please, give me a rundown of the differences between this game series and the Eurofront series? I have nothing to give except thumbs, some GG tips and my thanks.

Basically, I'm looking for an overview of the WWII in block wargame format. While I'm not a wargame newbie, the better the rule book, the more likely I'll play it. Any other information you think is relevant is appreciated as well.

Of course, if this has been answered many, many times before, then point me in that direction and I'll be on my way.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Keckley
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
designer
Fields of Despair - GMT P500.
mbmbmbmbmb
Read these:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/564279/europe-engulfed-or-th...

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/215300/europe-engulfed-vs-th...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Johnson
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mb
My opinion... They are both good, but...

For a operational level game, I like East Front (EF)(Columbia Games) better - a scenario can be completed in an afternoon. Barbarossa is very fun...

For a strategic campaign game, I like Europe Engulfed (EE)(GMT Games) better.

1) They both use blocks to hide unit type/strength
2) EE uses "Special Actions" which are spent at the country level (e.g., Germany), while EF uses "Headquarters" with multiple HQs per front.
3) Terrain impacts both, less so for EE.
4) Rivers/Invasions - EE uses increased casualties, while EF uses increased casualties and "repulses". My personal opinion is that repulses shouldn't happen on the scale of these games (corp level) especially not at the high frequency they do (1/3 per defending pip).