Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

PanzerBlitz» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stacking and movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wesley Williams
United States
Melrose (Rensselaer County)
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Under Road Movement, the rules state:

C. Units may not stack while moving along a road at the road movement rate.


Does this mean that once a road hex is used for road movement by a unit, than any units that subsequently travel through that hex must use the inherent terrain (and not road movement)? I thought this was a possibility, given Dunnigan's "1914" has similar rules for rail movement.

If so, this has serious inplications for some scenarios (Russians in #4, for instance - as it will take most of the game to traverse just the first board with troop-laden trucks without the benefit of road movement).

If not, how is this interpreted?

Under stacking, the following rule muddies the water further:

D. Stacking limitations do not apply during movement. They only apply before and after movement (except as qualified by the road movement rules).



Thanks in advance!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Marl
United States
Bethel Park
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I've done is that all units can make use of the road bonus, however each moves separately. The first unit moves as far as it can on the road. The next moves to 1 hex behind the first and stops because of Stacking rule D:

Units may not move through or onto other units on a road when moving at the road movement rate.

The second unit simply does not have enough movement points to stack with the first if it uses all of its movement.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Lloyd
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What I think was intended was to crate a march order problem. The answer actually comes in section E:
Quote:
To move through or onto a friendly unit on a road costs the full non-road movement cost of the other terrain in that hex, the moving unit incurs the non-road MF cost of the other terrain in that hex as well.

So you may move as a stack (since there is no rule forcing you not to), in which case no one may functionally utilize the road; or units move individually, in which case everyone may use the road rate, except in the last hex.

So move your units one at a time when on the road.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mtgjudge wrote:
Under Road Movement, the rules state:

C. Units may not stack while moving along a road at the road movement rate.


Does this mean that once a road hex is used for road movement by a unit, than any units that subsequently travel through that hex must use the inherent terrain (and not road movement)? I thought this was a possibility, given Dunnigan's "1914" has similar rules for rail movement.

If so, this has serious inplications for some scenarios (Russians in #4, for instance - as it will take most of the game to traverse just the first board with troop-laden trucks without the benefit of road movement).

If not, how is this interpreted?

Under stacking, the following rule muddies the water further:

D. Stacking limitations do not apply during movement. They only apply before and after movement (except as qualified by the road movement rules).



Thanks in advance!


This only matters at the moment when you are actually trying to enter an occupied hex. When the unit is trying to use road movement rate to enter a hex it can't use the road rate if another unit is already on the road. It doesn't matter what might have traversed the hex earlier. Where this becomes critical is in the forests when a truck or wagon can essentially act as a road block by taking up the road. Timing your moves is important so that you don't get in your own way.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bert Schoose
United States
Naperville
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is also important to remember that "vehicles" move first per the rules. What this means is that a non-vehicle unit, such as an infantry piece, will block the road the entire turn if it ends the previous turn on a road hex.

As mentioned up thread, that can be especially troublesome if it is a road hex in the woods. Some prime firing positions for unloaded guns can certainly muck up road movement if you are not careful and play by the published rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Plymale
United States
Winston Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you go to the Comsimworld site for this series there is a link to Imaginative Strategist. There you can find a link to consolidated Q&A for this game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.