Peter van der Pols
Netherlands
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Hi Mark,

Could you please explain us the rules in the following situation:

A reduced Finnish infantry units is stacked with Parajo and are attacked in the combat fase. After applying the support and calculating the combat ratio the attack is done one the 6:1 column. The Russian player rolls a '11', which means '0/7'. One hit is applied to the infantry unit which is killed, because the maximum retreat limit is 6-2 =4.

Question: what happends to Pajari? Is he allowed to retreat any number of steps to the maximum allowed (1,2,3,4,5)? To be clear: 6 retreat steps should be applied to fulfill the losses, but Pajari is only allowed to retreat 7-2=5 steps. I couldn't find the answer in rule 12.3.1.

Thanks,
Peter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan McKinney
United States
El Segundo
California
flag msg tools
12.3.1 actually answers it:

"He can be eliminated only by being forced to retreat into an eZOC or when all units in his hex are eliminated while OOS."

While this sentence appears only to modify the first sentence in the paragraph, it is actually free-standing. You can tell because "... when all units in his hex are eliminated while OOS" doesn't make sense if the rule is discussing Pajari being alone in a hex prior to combat.

Pajari retreats as far as possible (5 hexes), but is not eliminated. (Unless one of the two conditions above is met.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In your example, Pajari cannot retreat. Even after assigning one loss as a step reduction to eliminate the infantry, there are still 6 losses to assign and Pajari's retreat limit is 5.

Assuming that the Finnish units were in supply at the moment of their elimination, then Pajari is merely picked up and placed with the nearest friendly unit.

If the units were OOS when eliminated, then there is a 1 in 6 chance Pajari is killed (on a roll of 1); otherwise pick him up and place him with the nearest friendly, as above.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.