$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gettysburg: Badges of Courage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gettysburg Badges Melee Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Behr
Germany
Koenigswinter
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi,
Did I (as a German) understood the Melee rules correctly:

A unit that moved (from outside or even from another Frontline hex) into a Frontline hex must stop (no further movement) and may not make any melee (under command or nor under command).

Thanks
Michael
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Gustavsson
Sweden
Hofors
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you are correct. Only frontline units can melee (in the Movement Phase).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Behr
Germany
Koenigswinter
Germany
flag msg tools
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
foggy idea
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
I disagree with the answer. Movement is a different phase than Melee. So, if you move and become a frontline unit, you can then Melee next phase.

Frontline units may melee. It doesn't matter if they are fresh arrived frontline troops, or have been there a turn or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Mihalik
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
foggyidea wrote:
I disagree with the answer. Movement is a different phase than Melee. So, if you move and become a frontline unit, you can then Melee next phase.

Frontline units may melee. It doesn't matter if they are fresh arrived frontline troops, or have been there a turn or not.


Below is pasted the appropriate rule section. The melee move is done by the frontline unit during movement, not melee. Therefore the unit must be a frontline unit at the beginning of the movement phase in order to be able to melee.

1.2 PLayer 1 turn
A Player Turn has five phases which
must be played in the order given.
•Command Phase: Activate (turn faceup) as many HQ units as desired. HQs
may move to an adjacent friendly hex
and then activate. Friendly units within
Command Range of an active leader
are “under command.”
•Fire Phase: Artillery, Infantry, &
Cavalry units under command may fire
at enemy units. Artillery fires one, two,
or three hexes. Infantry and Cavalry
must be adjacent to the enemy units.
•move Phase: Units that did not
Command or Fire above may now
move. HQ command is not required
for movement. Units can move any
distance up to their movement limit,
but must stop when they enter an
enemy Zone of Control. Frontline units
may move one hex into Melee, which
does require Command.
•melee Phase: Melees are resolved,
one by one, in any sequence desired
by the Friendly player. Each melee
is resolved over 1–3 Rounds during
which both players have options to fire
or retreat. If the Attacker fails to win,
he must Retreat during Round 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
foggy idea
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Straight from the game designer.
"On Wed, May 22, 2013 at 12:45 AM, Grant Dalgliesh wrote:

Dave,

The melee "move" has no relation to the game turn move. You can melee into a battle even if you used all your MPs to get to the frontline.

Grant"

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
daron slaybaugh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
i have to disagree. this is the rule.

7.1 Melee Phase
Frontline units can, instead of firing, attack into an adjacent enemy-occupied hex during the Move Phase. Command is required to make this attack, except as noted in 7.8.

it states "instead of firing" so you have to move into a front line hex stop to fire the next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.