Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dungeon Fighter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sworn enemy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Wiltshire
Australia
Ingleburn
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that if there it not an explicit 'activate on hit' written in an ability's description then the ability activates when the die lands anywhere.

Is this really true of the 'Sworn Enemy' ability which "deals additional damage"?

Just seems a funny wording.

We played it that it is +4 damage on activate even on a miss as stated but wondering if that was as intended?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schott
Germany
Nürnberg
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
mbmbmbmbmb
it is explicitely stated in the German rules that the sworn enemy ability does extra damage on activation even on a miss
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Green_wombat wrote:
The rules state that if there it not an explicit 'activate on hit' written in an ability's description then the ability activates when the die lands anywhere.

Is this really true of the 'Sworn Enemy' ability which "deals additional damage"?

Just seems a funny wording.

We played it that it is +4 damage on activate even on a miss as stated but wondering if that was as intended?


This is correct (and was unintuitive for us, as well). The updated rules on the Dungeon Fighter web site explicitly state which special abilities require hitting the target and which don't. Also, there is a general rule: If the special ability has a target symbol in it, then you must hit the target for it to activate. If there isn't a target symbol, then it activates no matter where the die ends up (when the special symbol is rolled).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.