Gesine Stanienda
Ireland
Galway
Galway
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have just finished the second play through of WotR and I cannot believe that the FPs have scored a military victory after three turns.
I really need to understand what I did wrong. So here is a list of what happened, perhaps someone here can enlighten me.
In the first round, FP only rolled muster actions and palantir. So, I moved the activated elves down the political track as far as I could, I wanted to capture Moria from Lorien.
The SP also advanced 2 nations down the track into "At War". The next round, FP got one movement die for the fellowship, advanced one and the hunt went amiss.
Then, FP sent the Elves to "At war" and drew a card using a palantir card. This card allowed the FP to split one companion from the fellowship and move him a certain amount. So, I figured it would be good to move Strider to the Rohirrim to activate them.
The Shadow player began mustering in this round and moved from Dol Guldur towards Lorien to attack.
Next round, 2 movement dice for the fellowship (moved twice, never hunted down). SP drew a couple of cards.
Elves get moved to "At War", SP attacks Lorien, but is repelled (very unlucky rolls, Lorien only lost one unit), no cards were played.
Aragorn arrives in Rohan and activates the Nation.
Elves attack Moria and win and move into Moria (2 VP).
Next round: No movement dice for FP, 2 muster dice, 1 will of the west, one palantir. FP moves Rohan to "At War" in this round.
SP attacks Lorien again (had moved armies there before) and wins (2 VP).
5th round:
FP attach Orthanc from Fords of Isen with the "normal" troops available there and Strider from the fellowship. Several cards are being played, either inflicting damage up-front or cancelling leadership abilities for a round, this battle lasts about 5 rounds, but the Isengard faction loses. FP moves into Orthanc, 2 VP.
Total: 4 VP at the end of this.
This can't be right, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McKendrick
United Kingdom
Glasgow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Did the shadow forces in Moria and Orthanc retreat into the strongholds - thus forcing the FP to siege?

Also - how did you get Rohan onto a war footing?

-John
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gesine Stanienda
Ireland
Galway
Galway
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I got Rohan onto a war-foot by playing a card which allowed Strider to join them (he activated them). Then, I moved them down the political track with several dice in succession (for I think 3 rounds, I never rolled a single character action). I believe I followed the rules there.
But you are right: Noone withdrew into the strongholds. That was the mistake, tactically speaking, they should have done so.

Thanks for pointing this out.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to note: Strider can only activate the North. You'd need Gandalf or one of the Hobbits (or King Aragorn) to activate Rohan.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.