$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Battle for Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armed Recon modifiers (11.3.2) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

I have read this about 20 times and the more I read it the clearer it seems to become and then all of the sudden our group starts to question it and the clarity seems to vansih.

Could someone please give us the correct interpretation to rule# 11.3.2 specifically the "exception?"

The exception states:
If the target is a combat unit that is on a Highway/Primary Road and is within 2 hexes of an enemy unit(s), the DRM(s) for the terrain do apply....

Specifically what is the definition of enemy unit? Is it enemy to the Armed Recon attacked or enemy to the attacked unit?

We mostly think/agree on our end that enemy unit specifically for this game (we understand the Sicily game will have German air power) is an Allied unit.

We can see it both ways: Allied (enemy unit) as the German target unit could be more cautious and thus semi engaged OR as a German unit (enemy unit) as the Armed Recon is attacking a German unit and there are other German units (enemy) close enough to have given ample warning...

It just gets confusing interpreting each rule, but once interpreted the game gets easier and we dont usually forget the wording as much.

Thank you!

-Dave
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb

If the target unit, which is always German in an Armed Recon attack, is within 2 hexes of an enemy unit, which is always Allied, then it is not penalized by being on the road.

In other words, in proximity to Allied units then the Germans would be much more likely to have moved into tactical formation as opposed to speeding down the highway.

This is related to the rule that units using Strat movement at any time during their movement may not move within 3 hexes of an enemy unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
10-4! Thank you. We thought that was it was but wanted to be sure. We just opened up beach heads today and are working our way through the main sections now.

-dave
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oscar Oliver
Saint Lucia
Terrassa
Catalonia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the front are well stablished the artillery units that uses to be 3-4 hexes off the front line and mostly on road hexes are very exposed to armed recon : is that intended?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb


Oscar,

Yes, it is intended. If you want full protection, you have to give up mobility.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.