Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flame Trap Vs. Robots rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aex Destroy

Texas
msg tools
Flame Trap: Play on a base.
Ongoing: After another plays a minion here, destroy it (resolve its ability first) and this card.

Lets say we play a Zapbot or one of the Micro's which allows someone to start chaining minions onto a base. Does the Flame Trap destroy all of them? Since the abilities are resolved before the card is destroyed, if you chained out 5 minions onto that base, does it destroy all 5, or only the first one which triggered the trap?

I personally feel that the card reads "Destroy It [it being the card which stepped on it] and this card." Nothing more nothing less. It does not then apply to the monsters which have been chained out due to the ability of the first minion.

My friends however have a fit about this.

Anyone care to clarify?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Only the one minion.
That is why it says to resolve it's abilities first.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aex Destroy

Texas
msg tools
Im gonna throw down the most excessive victory dance on these fools when they get back here to play again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Philippe Thériault
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mb
You play a Zapbot. The Zapbot gives you an extra minion of power 2 or less this turn. It is then destroyed with Flame Trap.

Later on you play you extra minion. It is not part of the same action, it's a separate one. The 'chaining' is just a convenient shortcut that people do. In reality you're playing each minion individually.

Also: If the minion is the robot that cannot be destroyed, congrats! You just got rid of a Flame Trap at no cost to you (Flame Trap triggers and destroys both itself and the robot, but that robot can't be destroyed, so only Flame Trap is destroyed.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.