$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Carcassonne: The Princess & the Dragon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Princess tile question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
alynn silliman
msg tools
Im a new Player and there are a few questions that have come up. Haven't been able to find the answers in the instruction manual. Is there a resource for finding answers to questions?
I will post here if anyone is able to help.

When playing the Abbey tile to finish a city where you have a builder, do you still get to pull a second tile?

There's a Princess tile that has 2 city sections. One section is a corner piece of city with a shield on it. The other is one side city shaped like a "V" and has a princess on it. If the corner section is played on an existing city (the city with the shield on it, not the princess mark), can the princess mark on the tile still steal the city? Someone played that to steal my large city last night and said the princess "tile" works for stealing a city even if the piece of thand he (the princess) is on doesn't actually add to the city.

Thanks so much for whoever sees this. This forum seems like a great resource for new players.Princess and Abbey tiles
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Kennedy

Minnesota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to the world of Carcassonne.

We have played that if an Abbey finishes a city where you have a builder that you would then take a second tile. This does not happen very often though, and often it happens as the game ends so there usually is not a tile available anyway.

The princess tile doesn't "steal" cities. The princess tile would let you remove a meeple (knight) from the city and return it to the player it belongs to. If it connects to a city then you could remove someone's meeple. This can happen if there was a situation where a different meeples were on city tiles that were unconnected and the princess tile connected them.

The shield on a tile would make your Mayor meeple worth 1 per shield in a city. It also gives you more points for that city. It is not related to the way a princess tile is played.

Hope this is somewhat helpful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alynn silliman
msg tools
Thank you. This is very helpful.
So if you play the princess tile and kick out another players meeple, can you then place your own meeple in that city? Or can no one be on that city during that turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Johns
New Zealand
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
asillim wrote:
Thank you. This is very helpful.
So if you play the princess tile and kick out another players meeple, can you then place your own meeple in that city? Or can no one be on that city during that turn?


If you use the princess to remove a meeple, the rules forbid you from placing any follower at all that turn, either on the city or elsewhere on the tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M Monin
United States
Branford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
mbmb
Moved to Carcassonne: The Princess & the Dragon» Forumsv» Rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
David Malki drew this!
mbmbmbmbmb
asillim wrote:
When playing the Abbey tile to finish a city where you have a builder, do you still get to pull a second tile?


Since your Abbey is not extending the city (only finishing it by forming a wall on one end), you do not get to draw a second tile.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.