Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Pillars of the Earth: Expansion Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Black Master Builder Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Potter
United States
Tacoma
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My board game group came upon this situation the other night: Player A owns the black master builder. He then places two master builders. Player B then passes on placing a master builder, followed by Player A passing on a master builder. The black master builder is then drawn.
Is it:
1) Immediately set aside, since player A has no more master builders in the bag, and therefore can't get a space for cheaper.
2) Still places the black master builder, to reserve it for his last builder which he had previously passed on. This would block a space from player B, but wouldn't make the placing of the builder any cheaper, since it's already free.

Thanks in advance, and apologies if this has been posted before.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Yeager
United States
Ypsilanti
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state: "Important: After your black master builder is placed, your next master builder "drawn" is the only master builder that may replace the black master builder." None to draw, none to replace it with, so the black master builder ability is lost once all three of your other builders are drawn. "Drawn" is in quotes to account for the expansion's builders on the master builder track, which are considered in the bag for purposes of "drawn". Note that if you're playing with the master builder track, the black master builder will always come out of the bag before the third master builder is placed, meaning that it will always be useful (for varying degrees of useful).

I hope that helps!
Alex Yeager
Mayfair Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Potter
United States
Tacoma
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect. That was our ruling at the time.
Thanks for the quick response, and keep up the good work at Mayfair!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.