$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dungeon Command: Heart of Cormyr» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spells and line of sight. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
evil_wins Solo
Colombia
flag msg tools
mb
Hi everyone!

I would like to know if it is necessary to have line of sight when casting a spell. I have this doubt in two cases specifically:

-When a unit casts "fireball", can it cast it on a square within 5 squares that does not have line of sight?

- When the Umber Hulk does "confusion gaze". Does it have to have line of sight?

Thank you for the help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
Page 13... bottom left

Distances and Counting

Some game effects, such as ranged attacks, creatures’ powers, and
some Order cards, specify a distance in squares (the distance to a
target or the range of an effect). Whenever you need to determine
distance, follow these rules.

-The acting creature must have line of sight to the target unless
otherwise specified (see “Line of Sight and Cover”).

-Count the most direct route along adjacent squares (they can be
diagonally adjacent), up to and including the target square. Don’t
count the acting creature’s square. (A creature that occupies more
than 1 square can start counting from any of those squares.) Difficult
terrain does not affect distance.

-Some effects specify a range in squares (such as “within 2 squares”).
When determining this distance, always count around walls, never
through them. If an effect states that it does not require line of
sight, you count through walls instead of around them.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
evil_wins Solo
Colombia
flag msg tools
mb
So, in the cases of the fireball and Umber hulk, where it says "Within x squares", you dont need line of sight, but you count squares surrounding the walls.

Is that right?

I would think that, since the umber hulk confuses anyone who sees his four eyes, line of sight would have been required . . .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zoran Ignjatovic
Hungary
Budapest
Budapest
flag msg tools
Fanboy!
mbmbmbmbmb
As stated in the above mentioned rules reference...

- Some effects specify a range in squares (such as “within 2 squares”).
When determining this distance, always count around walls, never
through them. If an effect states that it does not require line of
sight
, you count through walls instead of around them.

This would imply that a spell effect or creature ability effect DO require line of sight by default, UNLESS stated otherwise (that they do not require line-of-sight).

So, in the example of a Fireball spell, you would need line-of-sight to a target square, but the blast radius could potentially effect a target not directly in the line-of-sight of that Fireball spell (hidden behind a wall or obstacle).

As for the Umber Hulk gaze ability, you would also need line of sight, since it doesn't specifically state otherwise. Seems that common sense could dictate the effectiveness of a gaze.

At least, this is how I would interpret the line-of-sight rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.