GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 88.01
36.4% of Goal | 26 Days Left
Is it allowed to use specialist with a non-CtA scenario?
If not by rules, has anyone tried this with any success?
Specialists are for CtA scenarios. Yes, I have used it for a normal scenario and it worked fine. It is a great way to add a little more tactics to play, and increase replay ability. I believe I allowed each player to pick one card to modify the scenario. If someone has a lot of bows, they will probably choose the Longbow upgrade.
Specialists are in fact minigame.
We devised this variant some time ago.
100 points per player at the beginning of ANY scenario (+ 40 per Lore Council Point spent for specialists)
First card is bought for those points by the beginning player, than 2 by the second, then two by beginning - till both players spent all of their points.
After buying a card, one of course has to implement its effects before any other specialist cards is put into play.
And bow upgrade, which we found OP, costed 60 points - just to make many other 50 point cards impossible to buy for 100.
There are of course cards like cattle riders and some other poor specialists worth 10-20 points, worth to take to "outmaneuver" a player who bought expensive ones.