$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring: Lords of Middle-earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Galadriel's Nenya special ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kwang Il Kim
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi?

I know that Shadow "We Shall Get It" Event card can be used before the Hunt resolution while Free Peoples "Play on the table..." Event cards can do during the Hunt resolution.

Then can Free people use Galadriel's Nenya special ability before "We Shall Get It" card or against any Shadow Character Event card drawing a Hunt Tile?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu
badge
- This is My Hour!
mbmbmbmbmb
The jury has been out eating Christmas dinner, New Year's dinner, and then sobering up after the celebrations. But finaly we have an official ruling from Roberto:

Quote:
Definitely - the ability says "whenever" - so it can be applied to any draw of a Shadow Hunt tile, no matter its source or timing.

Note that using Galadriel's ability BEFORE activating "We shall get it" might be pointless of course - you replace the Eye tile with another tile, but then the Shadow Player still has the option of activating "We Shall Get It" to replace that 2nd tile with a new one (and then the FP player might use "Mithril Coat..." to replace the 3rd tile with a 4th tile...).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kwang Il Kim
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Veldrin wrote:
The jury has been out eating Christmas dinner, New Year's dinner, and then sobering up after the celebrations. But finaly we have an official ruling from Roberto:

Quote:
Definitely - the ability says "whenever" - so it can be applied to any draw of a Shadow Hunt tile, no matter its source or timing.

Note that using Galadriel's ability BEFORE activating "We shall get it" might be pointless of course - you replace the Eye tile with another tile, but then the Shadow Player still has the option of activating "We Shall Get It" to replace that 2nd tile with a new one (and then the FP player might use "Mithril Coat..." to replace the 3rd tile with a 4th tile...).


Happy new year!

So FP may use Galadriel's Nenya ability
A) before "We Shall Get It", or
B) after "We Shall Get It" and before "Mithril Coat and Sting", or
C) after "Mithril Coat and Sting"
No matter the first Hunt tile was drawn by a successful Hunt roll (during the Hunt) or Event card.

Good.

Then FP may try to save Strider/Aragorn using the ability when three "Eye" Hunt tiles are drawn by "Challenge of the King" Event card, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
skeil wrote:
Then FP may try to save Strider/Aragorn using the ability when three "Eye" Hunt tiles are drawn by "Challenge of the King" Event card, right?

That didn't take long. laugh

Right.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Di Meglio
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steva fields
United States
vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That sort of takes some of the fun out of the challenge of the king card. Not that losing Strider would happen that often.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.