$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule Question: Minions and ongoing base actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Kaspick
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mb
Does a base need to have any minions of a given faction on it in order for an ongoing base action of the same faction to apply?

Sometimes the minions of a faction are all moved or destroyed on a given base or no minions of that faction were ever present on a base.

ie. Can an ongoing base action for the tricksters still apply even if there are no tricksters on the base?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, they should.

Ongoing cards will say to destroy them after the card is triggered, or for it to last only until the beginning of your turn. So if it meant for the ongoing power to only work as long as you had that type of minion at that same base, I should think it would say that based on the other conditions that some ongoing cards have to meet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Kaspick
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mb
Still sort of confused by your response.

For example, Enshrouding mist for the tricksters says...

Play on a base.
Ongoing: On your turn, you may play an extra minion here.



1) Does a trickster minion have to exist on a given base for it to be played on a the base? ie. The player plays it on a base it doesn't currently have minions.

The card doesn't say anything about requiring a minion to exist on a given base before it's played.


2) Tricksters exist on a base and Enshrouding mist is in effect. If all tricksters are moved or destroyed, does this card get removed too? This card isn't associated with a specific minion, but the base only. The card doesn't say it gets removed if all minions are no longer in play on the base. Question 1 would basically apply here now.


I realize some ongoing actions apply to a chosen minion and must be removed when that minion is removed, but the base actions aren't associated with a specific minion.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the confusing reply blush

My comment "yes it does" was in response to your last line quoted below,
Quote:
ie. Can an ongoing base action for the tricksters still apply even if there are no tricksters on the base?




But it looks like you answered your own question pretty much in your last post

If there's nothing on the card that says a minion has to be present at the base where that ongoing base action is played, then I don't believe there's any reason you wouldn't be allowed to have that card played on base without your minions being there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Kaspick
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mb
Perfect. Thanks for your responses; it clears things up then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.