Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions on Upgrades and Retreat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Billy Babel
United States
Guymon
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Ok, if you wanted to, on the ship schematics, could you for instance cover up the hull square with something else like computer or another drive and leave it so that one hit would kill it? or something similar of that ilk? Like a ship only needs power and a drive right? Can you have one flying around without a hull?

Also you can retreat only a few ships during combat right? like if you have interceptors and a dreadnought you can make all the interceptors retreat and leave the dreadnought to fight, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Richardson

Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmb
You can cover any square you want, as long as after the completion of the upgrade action each ship* has at least one drive and is powering all of its components. (Some ships like Orion's can cover all power source squares due to extra power.) And yes, retreating is always all ships of one type (or one or more types.)

(* and never a drive for starbase.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy Babel
United States
Guymon
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Oh sorry one more thing, in the directions it says that ships have a starting initiative value in the initiative example, with interceptors having 2, and and dreadnoughts having one. How can you tell what the starting initiative is for a ship? Where does it say?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Lacey
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty certain the rules require you to have a slot reserved for a drive and a power source on all ships (only a power source and never a drive on your starbase).

As for starting initiative it's just the number of carrots ^ the ship has before you do any upgrades to it. Some ships have it outside the slots. There is one carrot ^ on a normal jump drive for example, but usually 2 more outside of your interceptor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Richardson

Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmb
The only requirement on power is that all modules are powered. People frequently cover the Orion ships' Nuclear Source with a Hull.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy Babel
United States
Guymon
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
btw what tiles do terran players have to start on? Just any of the available starting tiles or any kind of specific numbers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jussi Hattara
Finland
Turku
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you want to use the correct reverse sides of starting hexes the Terrans have the following starting hexes:

Directorate (Red): 221
Federation (Blue): 223
Union (Green): 225
Republic (Yellow): 227
Conglomerate (White): 229
Alliance (Black): 231
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Richardson

Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmb
You can also look at the symbol on the back of the hex and match it with the symbol for the alien race on the back of the player sheet.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forrest & Ryan Driskel
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A note about retreat:

BillyBabel wrote:
Also you can retreat only a few ships during combat right? like if you have interceptors and a dreadnought you can make all the interceptors retreat and leave the dreadnought to fight, correct?


On the dreads turn (determined by initiative), it could also retreat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
West Hollywood
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ParticleMan wrote:
You can also look at the symbol on the back of the hex and match it with the symbol for the alien race on the back of the player sheet.


Or match the number on the corner of the front of the hex to the number below the character picture on your player sheet, which would be easier if you've already started covering it with your cubes and disks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.