1) If the Magellans (who get 1VP per discovery tiles used for it's bonus) find an Ancient Orbital or Warp Portal and place it on the board, do they still get 1VP? (The rules say they should "Keep" used tiles for 1VP, but I'm not sure if that's a requirement or just to make it easier to count).
Edit/Answer -- They do not get the point. I found it in the rulebook FAQ.
Interesting. Did you look it up in your actual rulebook? I can't find it in the online version. As far as I can see, that one hasn't been updated since October, but it includes the answer to your Planta question.
However, reading the rules again, it makes sense that they don't get a point from those two discoveries, as they're neither 'discarded' nor 'used as a ship part'.