Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

War of the Ring (second edition)» Forums » General

Subject: questions about revealing and moving the fellowship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cpt. America
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
1. if i place a nazgul in the same space as the frodo & sam figure, does that immediately reveal the fellowship?
a. if so, does the fellowship immediatelly moves the number of spaces in the fellowship track to a new location and is kept revealed?
b. if not, then what advantage does the nazgul give the shadow player by placing one (or more) nazgul in the same space as the frodo and sam figure


2. if the shadow player moves armies in the area if where frodo and sam are, does that reveal it?
a. if not, then what advantage is there for having armies in the same space?

3. according to the rules the fellowship can ONLY move when hidden...so, in order to heal it in a town, how do you go about moving the fellowship to a town?

4. can the fellowship go through a space with shadow figures right?
a. if so, what advantages are there to the shadow player when the fellowship does this?

5. once the fellowship is revealed can the shadow player move figures into the same space and ATTACK the fellowship? is that possible? thematically speaking, the fellowship should be able to be attacked if discovered no?

anyways, thanks guys for any help to these questions!! have a good one!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Brook
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1: The fellowship is only revealed when a hunt tile with the reveal symbol (hidden tile shown flipped to the revealed side) is drawn from the hunt pool or through certain event cards. So a Nazgul in the same region will not reveal the fellowship. The advantage of having a Nazgul in the same space as the fellowship comes when you roll for the hunt as it allows you to re-roll one failed die. You do not re-roll any additional dice for additional Nazgul in the same region.

2: See 1 regarding how the fellowship is revealed. For any shadow army units in the same region as the fellowship, the shadow player can re-roll a failed hunt roll die. Again, whether there is one or many army units in the region, only one additional die can be re-rolled. The other criteria that allows the shadow player to re-roll a failed hunt die is if the fellowship is in a region containing a stronghold controlled by the shadow player.

3: The free peoples player may choose to declare the fellowship in the Fellowship phase. The FPP then moves the fellowship the number of spaces as indicated on the fellowship progress track and the counter is reset to 0. The fellowship is also forced to move if it is revealed as a result of a successful hunt. However the fellowships movement may not end in a region with a free peoples city or stronghold when moving due to being revealed.

4: The fellowship can move through regions where there are shadow army units present. There are cards in the shadow players deck that can make this risky ("Balrog of Moria" is a good example).

5: The fellowship can not be directly attacked. If the shadow player moves units into the same space then the bonuses as described early can be applied during the hunt roll.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Humulus Lupulus
United States
Waltham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
samruiz123 wrote:
1. if i place a nazgul in the same space as the frodo & sam figure, does that immediately reveal the fellowship?
a. if so, does the fellowship immediatelly moves the number of spaces in the fellowship track to a new location and is kept revealed?
b. if not, then what advantage does the nazgul give the shadow player by placing one (or more) nazgul in the same space as the frodo and sam figure


2. if the shadow player moves armies in the area if where frodo and sam are, does that reveal it?
a. if not, then what advantage is there for having armies in the same space?

3. according to the rules the fellowship can ONLY move when hidden...so, in order to heal it in a town, how do you go about moving the fellowship to a town?

4. can the fellowship go through a space with shadow figures right?
a. if so, what advantages are there to the shadow player when the fellowship does this?

5. once the fellowship is revealed can the shadow player move figures into the same space and ATTACK the fellowship? is that possible? thematically speaking, the fellowship should be able to be attacked if discovered no?

anyways, thanks guys for any help to these questions!! have a good one!

1. No, it doesn't immediately reveal the FSP. It increases the chances of the SP rolling a successful hunt (so, it could end up eventually revealing the FSP). If a Nazgul is in the same region as the FSP (only one Nazgul is necessary, additional Nazgul offer no benefit), then after the FSP moves, and the SP rolls for the Hunt, the SP gets one reroll (one die).

2. No. Having a Shadow army in the same region as the FSP offers the same benefit as described above with the Nazgul. This reroll is in addition to any reroll from Nazgul in the region.

3. The FP can declare the location of the FSP in a FP-controlled city or stronghold during the Fellowship Phase. You just need enough moves along the FSP track in order to reach the city or town.

4. Yes. No advantages if moving through. Only advantage is as described above in #2.

5. No, he cannot. Well, he can move an army there, but cannot attack the FSP. Benefit is #2 above. Think of being revealed as Sauron knowing the general whereabouts of the FSP. Rolling a successful Hunt roll is specifically knowing the location of the FSP and attacking them (hence the advantage of hunt rerolls described in 1 and 2 above).

Good luck!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
[Edit: Twice beaten to the punch!]

Juan, the Shadow is limited in how it can gain advantage in the Hunt for the Ring. There is no way for Shadow units or leaders to directly confront the Fellowship. Instead they can influence the Hunt indirectly.

The following each allow a reroll of one missed die in the Hunt roll, for a possible maximum of rerolling three missed dice:

- one or more Nazgul in the same region as the Fellowship figure*
- one or more Shadow unit (any nation) in the same region as the Fellowship figure
- the Fellowship figure's current location is a region containing a Shadow Stronghold

*Nazgul may not move to an unconquered Free Peoples Stronghold unless accompanying a Shadow Army, so the Shadow player cannot simply fly one into Rivendell to get a reroll.

Attacking the Fellowship is accomplished through Event cards. These are the conditions that allow for the play of certain Event cards (all from the Shadow Character Event deck):

- The Fellowship figure is not in a Free Peoples settlement (e.g. Foul Thing from the Deep)
- The Fellowship Progress marker is at step 1 or higher (e.g. The Nazgul Strike!) [Note, cards with this prerequisite can no longer be played once the Fellowship has reached the Mordor track]
OR
- The Fellowship is revealed (e.g. Lure of the Ring)

Normally only Hunt tiles with a Reveal icon cause the Fellowship to be revealed. Exceptions include the Nazgul Search event card (which does involve having a Nazgul present in the same region as the Fellowship figure) and Gollum using his special ability to reduce damage from a successful Hunt.

To heal Corruption the Fellowship must declare itself in an unconquered Free Peoples City or Stronghold (not a Town). If the Fellowship has moved enough spaces, it can declare itself in that city or stronghold at the beginning of the next turn (e.g. if the Fellowship is in East Emnet and has moved twice without being revealed, it can declare in Minas Tirith next turn and heal one point of Corruption).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cpt. America
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
thanks guys! wow, those were really fast responses!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raven Zachary
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Two related questions:

6) Can a Nazgul be attacked by a Free Peoples army if it is alone in the region with the Fellowship?

7) If a Shadow army then moves into the space with the Fellowship and the lone Nazgul, is it assumed that the Nazgul that was already there now becomes a part of that army and therefore is now vulnerable to attack by a Free Peoples army?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
6. No

7. Yes
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Näslund
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I guess you could pull the nazgul out of combat (still staying in the same region) and not benefit from its leader re-roll. It would then survive the defeat in the region.
Am I right or wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu
badge
- This is My Hour!
mbmbmbmbmb
You are wrong. sauron

Any Nazgûl or Character in the same region as a friendly Army automatically becomes part of the Army.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Näslund
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
But what about when you choose parts of an army that you dont want to participate in a combat? Doesnt that count for leaders and nazguls as well since they still remain in the same region.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Humulus Lupulus
United States
Waltham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sebim wrote:
But what about when you choose parts of an army that you dont want to participate in a combat? Doesnt that count for leaders and nazguls as well since they still remain in the same region.

I believe that is only an option for the attacker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu
badge
- This is My Hour!
mbmbmbmbmb
Desiderata wrote:
sebim wrote:
But what about when you choose parts of an army that you dont want to participate in a combat? Doesnt that count for leaders and nazguls as well since they still remain in the same region.

I believe that is only an option for the attacker.


Correct. The attacker can divide the Army before attacking. For a Character to be left behind, however, at least one Army unit must be left behind as well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.