Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: News Flash!!: Boy turns Pirate and beats Merchant Father to Victory! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robb Wynn
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all!

My son & I thoroughly enjoyed our first foray into Merchants & Marauders even though the backstabbing little blighter didn't play fair at all! (I guess that can be expected with this game!)

A few questions came up while playing that we can't seem to find answers to:

1. Can you have more Specialists that Crew? We thought that the Crew# wasn't literal but represents more of a crew UNIT since it would be tough to sail a Flute with a Captain and one crew member. We allowed more Specialists than Crew but of course no doubles.

2. Do special weapons transfer during a ship upgrade?

3. During a War, if a new captain Event is drawn, does the Frigate then replace the Man of War?

4. When you spend a chain/grapeshot token, does it affect ALL the successes rolled, just one, or your choice? Can you spend both on two separate successes?

5. Does anyone House Rule that killing an NPC pirate will reduce a Player Pirate's Bounty from the matching Sea-Zone's port nationality?

6. Is Donald 12-Pockets as lame as he seems or are we missing something? Risk 6 gold to get a possible 3 more? (If you are selling 3 in-demand goods) Seems like a silly gamble.

7. Does Christian Marquis's power to ignore Storms seem a bit over-powered to you? (Or am I just jealous that my son had him as a Captain?)

One last thing...for setting just the right mood while playing, I suggest using the Songza app and choosing the Pirates of the Caribbean Saga playlist! It was fantastic! arrrh

Thanks all!



8 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
1. Yes, there is no limit on specialists. And you can capture them from an opponent if you win a boarding battle (which you couldn't do if it were not possible to have more than you have crew, since you would then lose the last specialists when the last crew is killed)

2. Yes, special weapons are transfered (but modifications are not). Also you can transfer any unused weapons at sea to the ship you keep (if you win a boarding battle - and of course no doubles)

3. Still a Man-o-war (I think? - the war event card is still in effect with all the other things)

4. All successes are changed - I think of it like all your cannons were actually loaded with that type of special ammunition

5. Never heard of this, but interesting option. Though if played the right way pirates are easier to win with than merchants (in general and it depends on the playing style of your group). And this would make pirating easier - though perhaps going from merchant to pirate gets easier too, so it might be a good house-rule. But I always like to play a few games before changing anything.

6. I think he is best for pirates who often just sell their (stolen) goods at the standard 3 gold in the nearest port. Pirates with a good influence that is.

7. Depends on what events you draw (of course ). If many storms come out, then he is very good, but it is also likely you will never get to use his ability (or very little). And he has 4 in seamanship so any damage he would usually avoid anyway (except for the worst storms). This makes it only some extra actions that he gets from it, which is good as he'll waste many with just 2 in scouting. Also notice that his stats add up to 9 while most others add up to 10.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle W.
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Now appearing in Jurassic World! (Not really)
badge
How Me Grimlock get geekgold?
mbmbmbmbmb
Great to hear you enjoyed it!
wynnr67 wrote:
1. Can you have more Specialists that Crew? We thought that the Crew# wasn't literal but represents more of a crew UNIT since it would be tough to sail a Flute with a Captain and one crew member. We allowed more Specialists than Crew but of course no doubles.
Crew and Specialists are independent, so the number you have of one has no bearing whatsoever on the other.

If it helps, think of each step on the crew marker line as being a group of people (5, 10, etc.) rather than just one person each.

Quote:
2. Do special weapons transfer during a ship upgrade?
Special Weapons (round tokens) can be transferred when you change ships. Ship modifications (square tokens) cannot be transferred, unless you're upgrading in St.John.

Quote:
3. During a War, if a new captain Event is drawn, does the Frigate then replace the Man of War?
While a war is active, any NPC ships belonging to one of the two nations involved are always a MoW. If a new NPC of that nation is added or the current one is defeated (and replaced by a previous one), the new ship will also be a MoW. They only become Frigates again when the war ends.

Quote:
4. When you spend a chain/grapeshot token, does it affect ALL the successes rolled, just one, or your choice? Can you spend both on two separate successes?
It affects all of the Skulls rolled, whether you want to use them all or not. "Excess" skull hits to crew or masts do not carry over to the hull if you used Grape or Chain shot.

You can't use both Grape and Chain shot on the same roll, regardless of the number of Skulls.

Quote:
5. Does anyone House Rule that killing an NPC pirate will reduce a Player Pirate's Bounty from the matching Sea-Zone's port nationality?

Never tried that one, but it could be helpful for a merchant that got a bounty they didn't want. Pirates probably wouldn't care unless it clears them with a specific nation, since they'll usually have more than one bounty anyways.

Quote:
6. Is Donald 12-Pockets as lame as he seems or are we missing something? Risk 6 gold to get a possible 3 more? (If you are selling 3 in-demand goods) Seems like a silly gamble.
I'm not familiar with the card offhand, but if it's a Rumor card it could still be worth it for the GP whether you take the risk or not.

Quote:
7. Does Christian Marquis's power to ignore Storms seem a bit over-powered to you? (Or am I just jealous that my son had him as a Captain?)
There are only 5 storm event cards in the deck, so it's entirely possible to play the entire game without him ever getting to use it.

Also, if he's causing you trouble try boarding his ship. It will make him cry.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that "Crew" abstractly denotes the crew members who are on board for the express purpose of fighting. It's just assumed that you always have all the sailing crew you need.

Quote:
4. When you spend a chain/grapeshot token, does it affect ALL the successes rolled, just one, or your choice? Can you spend both on two separate successes?


To be clear, the special weapons affect all skulls that were rolled. There are no successes or failures when rolling for hit-locations.

Quote:
5. Does anyone House Rule that killing an NPC pirate will reduce a Player Pirate's Bounty from the matching Sea-Zone's port nationality?


Not sure I see the reason or justification for that. Just because the pirates are fighting amongst themselves doesn't make them any less pirates.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robb Wynn
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all!
That clears a lot up!

Played another 2P-game with my son this evening and we both got a lot more fighting in! The game took quite a bit longer than the first one probably due to all the battles. It came down to an epic winner-take-all sea battle as we both tried to make it back to our home ports to cash in our booty for glory! My son...*cough*...won again. I was even drinking RUM and it didn't help me against that Pepsi-drinking brigand!

The only question that came up this time was regarding the White Lady rumor. If successful, you find a damaged frigate that you can keep. We wondered if this counted as a Glory point or not since you found it but didn't purchase it.

Can't wait to get more people to the table and try a 3 or 4 player game!
Yo Ho Ho All!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
mbmbmbmbmb
wynnr67 wrote:
The only question that came up this time was regarding the White Lady rumor. If successful, you find a damaged frigate that you can keep. We wondered if this counted as a Glory point or not since you found it but didn't purchase it.


You only get that glory point if you actually purchase the frigate. But you're already getting a glory point anyway just for proving the rumor true.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Also notice with the White Lady, that it is best if you can scout for it on your first action, so you can reach a port somewhere else (since you risk a Hull damage in Bridgetown). If someone else are near you they should attack, as you are now extremly easy to sink. That is if you keep the fregate of course. The question is, if it is worth it since you need to spend 11x2 for repairs, and so you are only 8 gold away from buying a new ship (and getting the glory point for buying it). Only if your current ship is already damaged and you have no cargo is it worth keeping, I think.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Norwood
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wynnr67 wrote:
5. Does anyone House Rule that killing an NPC pirate will reduce a Player Pirate's Bounty from the matching Sea-Zone's port nationality?


Why would you house-rule after one play? Even Jesus wouldn't do that...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robb Wynn
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LOL!
Shouldn't we be asking ourselves:
"What would Reiner Knizia do?" instead?
But yeah, we LOVE our House Rules round here...and bacon! bacon

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flying Monkeys!
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
You are the 999th person to view this hidden message!
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I was even drinking RUM and it didn't help me against that Pepsi-drinking brigand!


Try wearing an eye patch. But keep the rum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Fike
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
Randor20 wrote:

7. Depends on what events you draw (of course ). If many storms come out, then he is very good, but it is also likely you will never get to use his ability (or very little). And he has 4 in seamanship so any damage he would usually avoid anyway (except for the worst storms). This makes it only some extra actions that he gets from it, which is good as he'll waste many with just 2 in scouting. Also notice that his stats add up to 9 while most others add up to 10.


I am usually frustrated when playing players with this pirate...I understand the logic that you should just board him, but having 4 in seamanship means he gets to roll four dice to your 3 or 2 and you have to "outroll" him at his strength in order to board him. It is easier said than done and you will likely be ripped to shreds prior to having your opportunity.

The seamanship trait is akin to the Runebound game where the some skills are used first and only later on are other skills put to play...giving a huge advantage to those who are beefed up on the first skills.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
markgravitygood wrote:
Why would you house-rule after one play? Even Jesus wouldn't do that...


I doubt He would even need to play first or, heck, even need to read the rules first. Not that He would do that. Doesn't seem His style
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.