5 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Keywords And Sweet Old Lady rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
soak man
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to the game and have found this rules forum very helpful in picking up rules that I have overlooked. But I was playing a game last night and was confused over a couple things.

Sweet Old Lady for Hastur's faction says that if she is comitted to a story alone, the opponent must pay 2 in order to commit any cards to the same story. The way this works when you are the "active" player is obvious, but what happens if you are defending a story with this card? Would the opponent still have to pay 2 as soon as Sweet Old Lady commits? Or since she would be committing second, would her text not apply as the opponent's cards are technically already committed before she is? If the first is correct, (as the card says nothing about on-your-turn or anything like that) what would happen to the cards that were committed if the opponent could not pay the 2 required? Would they be exhausted? or would they still be readied as they never could have committed to begin with even though they tried?

Also, a few cards in the secrets of Arkham pack have text such as "search for a card with the DAY keyword and put it into play." Now, are keywords any bolded word on the card? or must they be singled out at the beginning of the card? For instance, Albino Goat Spawn takes a wound if a DAY card is put into play. Since Day is on the Goat Spawn card, would it act as a keyword (it IS bolded)?

Thanks much! I'm enjoying the game quite a bit so far, and I'm trying my darndest to find effective Twilight Lodge combos with other factions but the bounce back nature of the cards seems a little difficult to synergize.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ola Lundin
Sweden
Uppsala
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!