Justus
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Me

I am a big Dixit fan, I have purchased six copies of this game, three of which I have given away (a copy of Dixit 2 and Odyssey to my sister, and a copy of Journey to my game night host who introduced me to the game). I have not yet purchased J for myself, because I'm always playing the copy of at my host's house.

In an end of year wrap geeklist, I did a quick write up of how I think the family interacts and I thought I'd turn it into a slightly longer review. As an architect I think about this shit way too much....

Initial thoughts that got derailed into the auxiliary stuff

For me 1 is the granddaddy and I still think it has the best art (I am particularly fond of the cat and fishbowl). Because Marie is the artist for 2, I think the two make the best pairing. For any normal human being that is just about right. You don't actually NEED more cards than that. And since I feel Dixit bogs with more than 6 players, you really don't need the extra chits either.

However, O's score track is nice, and it is nice to be able to add a couple extra player bunny tokens if you need it. However the voting placard sucks monkeynuts and we never use it. Instead we just use voting chits from 1, and if there are more players we use dice from a copy of Perudo (you can always add 2+6=8).

J has the nice "feature" of adding more voting chits, unfortunately they used the same bleeping colors as 1. That was a very unfortunate oversight because now they aren't as easy to use as supplemental voting chits for 7+ players. However, we make do and we do use the J chips if we have more than six players. And of course we just completely ignore the stupid plastic pawns of J.

So in summary we use the O scoretrack and bunnies (since they sit better) with the 1 and J voting chits. But really we don't love Dixit for the scoring right?

We love it for the ART.