$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

War and Peace» Forums » Rules

Subject: Political Alliance Phase? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Page 2 of the rules says that the Political Alliance Track is adjusted in the "Political Alliance Phase." but the Sequence of Play does not mention a Political Alliance Phase.

I assume the PAP is at the beginning of the Resource Point Phase. E.g., if France takes Vienna, then at the beginning of the Austrian Resource Point Phase the Austrian marker on the PAT slides 3 left and France rolls to see if Austria surrenders.

Then, Britain rolls to see if Austria immediately revives?

Then, if Austria does Revive, and France still controls Vienna on the next Austria turn, the Austrian marker is again slid 3 left, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Political Alliance check occurs during the Resource Point Phase, see page 4 of the rule book. In the conditions you cited in your question the rules would be applied as follows:

The moment Vienna is captured by France the Austrian Control Marker on the Political Alliance Track is moved three spaces in the direction of alligence to France.

Austria starts its turn with a Surrender Check because it's capital Vienna is enemy occupied.

In the following British turn the player can expend resource points and try to roll and improve Austria's position on the Poltical Alliance Track. It is possible over time that Britain could improve Austria to 3 or better even while France occupies Vienna.

Any turn where neutral Austria's is at 3 favoring the British on the Political Alliance Track it can roll to see it becomes active on the British side. If successful Austria's Control Marker is immediately moved to 4 on the Political Alliance Track. France's continued occupation of Vienna does not change Austria's Political Alliance Track position.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
OK. It would be clearer if it were called the Political Alliance Subphase of the Resource Point Phase.

Where does it say that a successful roll for Alliance with a Neutral automatically advances the previous Neutral's Political Track marker by one? In your last paragraph, you refer to this in your example of Austria being rolled to British Alliance, and the Austrian Political Track marker advancing from 3* to 4* as a result.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You right I miss interpreted the rules on page 5 "Spending RP to Declare War" for major countries. A country's alliance track is immediately moved to 4 only when war has been declared against it not when it joins an alliance during the Political Alliance Check.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bausman
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
In our game spending 3 RP's and needing to roll a 1 was extremely expensive and very hard to do. As a suggestion we thought about house ruling this by using a 10D and increasing the hit number by one for each attempt. First roll is a 1. Second try is 1-2. Third try 1-3. etc. This seems "real" as the more money spent always seem to increase the chances with political things.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.