$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens if the city in which an epidemic should occur has been eradicated? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It states in the rules that cards drawn for eradicated diseases have no effect when drawn on the INFECTOR'S turn.

Since drawing an epidemic card happens before the infector takes his turn, does this city still receive three cubes? Or is the action skipped? If the action is skipped, does the infection rate still increase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaiah Tanenbaum
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
When you are drawing the cards, you are the infector, so it doesn't happen "before the infector's turn."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Morcerf
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
I've been thinking too much. Help me.
badge
And what we want, we know we can't believe. We have all learned to kill our dreams.
mbmbmbmbmb
On a player's turn, he/she will take their actions, then draw player cards, and then play the role of the infector and draw cards from the infection pile equal to the infection rate. If you draw and Epidemic card from the player draw pile then you would increase the infection rate, draw the bottom card from the infection pile and place 3 cubes in it (if that disease is not eradicated) and place it in the discard, and shuffle the discard and place it on the top of the infection deck. You will also take the role of the infector to finish your turn as normal.

As in the rules, anytime an infection card is drawn for a city whose disease is currently eradicated the card is discarded with no effect -- no cubes are placed for an eradicated disease (even when it's drawn as part of an epidemic card).
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DeMorcerf wrote:
On a player's turn, he/she will take their actions, then draw player cards, and then play the role of the infector and draw cards from the infection pile equal to the infection rate. If you draw and Epidemic card from the player draw pile then you would increase the infection rate, draw the bottom card from the infection pile and place 3 cubes in it (if that disease is not eradicated) and place it in the discard, and shuffle the discard and place it on the top of the infection deck. You will also take the role of the infector to finish your turn as normal.

As in the rules, anytime an infection card is drawn for a city whose disease is currently eradicated the card is discarded with no effect -- no cubes are placed for an eradicated disease (even when it's drawn as part of an epidemic card).


That's what I thought, but thanks for the confirmation!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.