Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Accessing agendas from R&D rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tunguska's CPA
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fetal AI says that if the runner accesses it from R&D s/he needs to reveal it to the corp.

Doesn't the runner have to reveal any agenda to the corp when he steals it and, furthermore, isn't stealing it mandatory (so you can't access it and put it back)?

It seems that Fetal AI implies that the runner doesn't normally reveal agendas stolen from R&D, perhaps so the corp doesn't know what it's missing.

..or am I looking into this too much and it's just the Fetal AI is being extra specific because it borks the runner?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Finkle
msg tools
cervantes3773 wrote:
Fetal AI says that if the runner accesses it from R&D s/he needs to reveal it to the corp.

Doesn't the runner have to reveal any agenda to the corp when he steals it and, furthermore, isn't stealing it mandatory (so you can't access it and put it back)?

It seems that Fetal AI implies that the runner doesn't normally reveal agendas stolen from R&D, perhaps so the corp doesn't know what it's missing.

..or am I looking into this too much and it's just the Fetal AI is being extra specific because it borks the runner?

Thanks!


When you steal an agenda, it is placed face-up in your points zone, so the Corporation will know what it is. And normally, stealing an agenda upon accessing it is mandatory.

Fetal AI is specific because, in an exception to the normal rules, stealing it is not mandatory. However, revealing it is, so that the runner always takes the 2 Net damage even if he chooses not to (or cannot) pay the 2.

The only other case where a runner is not mandated to steal an accessed agenda is if there is Red Herrings on the server. If the runner were to access an agenda on R&D with Red Herrings installed, he could choose not to steal that agenda. He would not need to reveal to the corporation the agenda or even his choice not to pay 5.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobin Lopes
United States
Thornton
Dark Side of the Moon
flag msg tools
Serving the Emperor since 1971
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
cervantes3773 wrote:
Fetal AI says that if the runner accesses it from R&D s/he needs to reveal it to the corp.

Doesn't the runner have to reveal any agenda to the corp when he steals it and, furthermore, isn't stealing it mandatory (so you can't access it and put it back)?

It seems that Fetal AI implies that the runner doesn't normally reveal agendas stolen from R&D, perhaps so the corp doesn't know what it's missing.

..or am I looking into this too much and it's just the Fetal AI is being extra specific because it borks the runner?

Thanks!


The reason for the "show" statement is because of the added cost of 2c to score it. Typically you would score any accessed agenda and therefore reveal it, but if you can't pay the two then you won't score it but it still has to do its damage and the corp has to know that.

In a similar instance, if red herrings is on R&D and the runner can't pay the 5c to score an agenda then you don't have to reveal it, unless the Genda specifically says so.

Hope that helps.

-tpl
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tunguska's CPA
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You're both awesome - thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.