$10.00
Marcel Kaul
msg tools
Hi,
Is it possible to cancel the effects of Smaugs shadow card? Or is this part of the PlayercardshavenoeffectonSmaug text?

Do you deal a shadow card when Smaug attacks Lake Town?

And finally, can there be more than one Smaug card in the game at the same time? Rules say that you have to discard the Smaug card if you get another version. What if you draw the same Smaug version? Imagine you are the first player, choose to put Smaug to your area instead of the staging area. Then you draw the same Smaug currently engaged with another player. Is his version of Smaug discarded or your just-drawn version?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
CaptainGen wrote:
Is it possible to cancel the effects of Smaugs shadow card? Or is this part of the PlayercardshavenoeffectonSmaug text?

I believe you can cancel the shadow effect because the shadow card itself is not immune to player card effects.

CaptainGen wrote:
Do you deal a shadow card when Smaug attacks Lake Town?

FFG has stated that part of the process of an attack that occurs outside the combat phase is dealing a shadow card, so yes, the attack would get a shadow card.

CaptainGen wrote:
And finally, can there be more than one Smaug card in the game at the same time? Rules say that you have to discard the Smaug card if you get another version. What if you draw the same Smaug version? Imagine you are the first player, choose to put Smaug to your area instead of the staging area. Then you draw the same Smaug currently engaged with another player. Is his version of Smaug discarded or your just-drawn version?

There is only ever one Smaug card in play at a time. If you draw the same version you already have in play, you still replace it. In the example you cite, the other player's Smaug is discarded and the new version is put into play engaged with you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Figo 3434
msg tools
CaptainGen wrote:
Do you deal a shadow card when Smaug attacks Lake Town?


AdmiralACF wrote:
FFG has stated that part of the process of an attack that occurs outside the combat phase is dealing a shadow card, so yes, the attack would get a shadow card.


Is it correct that Smaug immediately (because it's a "when revealed"-effect) attacks Lake Town , meaning there is no action window between revealing this card and declaring a defender (so you can't ready a hero who is already exhausted to do that)? But there is, as usual, an action window after dealing and resolving the shadow card, but before applying damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Figo3434 wrote:
Is it correct that Smaug immediately (because it's a "when revealed"-effect) attacks Lake Town , meaning there is no action window between revealing this card and declaring a defender (so you can't ready a hero who is already exhausted to do that)? But there is, as usual, an action window after dealing and resolving the shadow card, but before applying damage?

That would be my guess, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.