Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: dark knowledge & sentinel rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Figo 3434
msg tools
If a sentinel character has dark knowledge attached ("Response: Exhaust Dark Knowledge to look at 1 shadow card that was just dealt to an enemy attacking you"), can you use dark knowledge?

I guess not, because after shadow cards have been dealt, you would have to trigger the response, but the dark knowledge character/the player who controls him would be attacked only after this step (that is, when you declare a defender).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Figo3434 wrote:
I guess not, because after shadow cards have been dealt, you would have to trigger the response, but the dark knowledge character/the player who controls him would be attacked only after this step (that is, when you declare a defender).

Agreed. And even if the timing was correct (for instance, in the case of the dealing of the second shadow card for a Dol Guldur Beastmaster), I still don't think it would work. Even if you are defending another player's enemy via the sentinel keyword, the other player is still the target of the attack, so the enemy would not be "attacking you".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Riehl
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup. The best way to think of Sentinel is that it works as if the character moves to defend, not the enemy. So any shadow that refers to the "defending player" means the player with whom the enemy is engaged, not the player who owns the character with sentinel. Similarly, you cannot use dark knowledge on a sentinel character to look at a shadow card of an enemy engaged with another player.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rudy prico
Slovakia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be sure....when you have sentinel character but you dont want to use its sentinel ability (to defend against other players enemies) you can use Dark Knowledge normaly (against attack against 'you'), right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.