Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Urban Sprawl» Forums » Rules

Subject: resolving ties rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jimmy ryan
United States
Jamestown
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I am writing this as an afterthought form a game played several weeks ago. In most cases of ties, cards and/or elected officials state who wins. However, there were several situations in which specific buildings were targeted for some effect and a tie occurred. How do you resolve that?

Love the game, BTW.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United Kingdom
Great Barford, Bedford
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Rules page 15 wrote:
THE ACTIVE PLAYER IS IN CONTROL
Breaking Ties—The active player breaks ties whenever a tiebreaker isn’t explicitly given—for example, when choosing the
single most valuable building during the Local Headlines event
if more than one building occupies the most valuable block; or
when choosing the single least valuable building during Urban
Decay if two or more are tied for this distinction.


Hope this is what you were looking for.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And perhaps worth noting. . .

The Active Player tile doesn't move until all of the End of Turn steps are complete. The Planning display is rebuilt, the Contract display is rebuilt, then the Active Player tile goes to the next player.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jimmy ryan
United States
Jamestown
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Outstanding. I figured there was a rule in there somewhere I had overlooked. Thank you both for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
Du Quoin
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
mbmbmbmbmb
To be extra clear, note that the resolution of a tie for an elected office is made by whoever has the most number of building types. If still a tie, then the previous office holder breaks the tie. The text on the politician chits indicates the second tiebreaker but not the first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
If still a tie, then the previous office holder breaks the tie.


I don't think that's correct. It's not the previous office holder; it's the current holder of the office higher in the political hierarchy. Current Mayor decides District Attorney tie; Current District Attorney decides Treasurer tie; etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
Du Quoin
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
mbmbmbmbmb
GS in KS wrote:
Malacandra wrote:
If still a tie, then the previous office holder breaks the tie.


I don't think that's correct. It's not the previous office holder; it's the current holder of the office higher in the political hierarchy. Current Mayor decides District Attorney tie; Current District Attorney decides Treasurer tie; etc.


Sorry, that's what I meant. The politician previous in the list.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it. Hope I didn't come across too strong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
Du Quoin
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
mbmbmbmbmb
GS in KS wrote:
Got it. Hope I didn't come across too strong.


Nope. Precious Precision and speed don't always mix well for me.

See?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.