Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
R Hilton
United States
Millburn
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the game and am reading through the rules, which seem quite straightforward. Except I'm not sure I understand the full sequence of events in the aftermath of a successful Political Alliance Check or a Declaration of War. I didn't see these addressed in other threads; apologies if I overlooked them. And apologies for the number of questions, but some of my questions and assumptions, are conditional on one another.

Political Alliance Check (PAC):
To expand on the example in the rules, suppose Prussia becomes a part of the British Alliance as a result of a PAC at the start of the Prussian RP Phase. Further suppose there were some French forces occupying Prussian areas, and the Prussian player chooses to place some of his newly created units in those areas.
- Does combat take place immediately? If so, who is the attacker? And if there is combat, who can retreat where, as either the attacker or defender? Can any Prussian units that do participate in combat move in the upcoming Prussian Combat Movement Phase and engage in further combat?
- In the immediately following Prussian Purchase Phase, I take it Prussia cannot purchase any further units because it does not actually control any areas; it does not place any control markers until its Unit Place Phase. Are these correct assumptions?
- In the immediately following Prussian Non-Combat Movement Phase, can any Prussian units move, given it does not control any land areas to which it could move?
- On subsequent Prussian RP Phases in later turns, Prussia calculates the RPs it has to spend in the normal fashion, i.e. 1 RP for each RP in those areas it actually controls. Is this correct?

Declaration of War (DOW):
Again build on the example in the rules, wherein Austria declares war on Prussia.