Epic Dungeoneer: Call of the Lich Lord » Rules » How does the Arch Lich Lord work?

Author: HiveGod
This is my first foray into the fabulous world of Duneoneer, so please excuse my ignorance...

From the rules card:

"When the Throne of Despair is placed, the Arch Lich Lord appears in that room and remains there until defeated."

Okay, got it.

"He attacks any hero who enters."

Here's where the questions arise...

1. Is this an immediate 'free' attack? Meaning that as soon as someone walks through the door during their movement phase they get jumped by Ol' Cranky Bones?

2. Does the victim have to have the nine Peril to 'pay' for that attack?

3. How does this work if the victim remains in the room on subsequent turns? Does the Lich get a 'free' attack every Dungeon Lord phase? Or, again, does it cost the nine Peril?

I guess the real question is does the Lich behave like a regular monster who just happens to reside in the Throne of Despair room, or is he in any other way special?

Thanks very much for your help!
Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:43 pm
Author: tibodi
the Arch Lich attacks during your hero phase,just like for quest monster.
then,everyone,during his dungeonlord phase,could pay for his cost to make it attack againThe Arch Lich is linked to the Throne of Despair to give us a chance to destroy the Plague Scepter.In the Artic set,a similar spell was quite impossible to broke,because Cholizar(the ice witch)wasn't linked to a place.good dungeoneer!!
Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:33 am
Author: HiveGod
So he initially attacks like a quest monster even though you can't beat the quest without being seated on the Throne?

Also, where in the rules is this?

Thanks!
Sat Jun 14, 2008 5:33 pm
Author: tibodi
"while on Throne of Despair" doesn't mean that you have to being seated on the Throne..Every quest in every Dungeoneer set says:"while on (location name)".if the Arch Lich attacks any hero who enters,attacks during that hero phase.the difference with a normal quest monsters is that the Arch Lich attacks when you enter,even if you didn't declare to attempt the quest.
Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:18 pm
Author: HiveGod
Okay, now it all makes sense--I was confusing being seated on the Throne with being on the card. Thanks very much for clearing this up!
Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:16 pm